Slow Cooker Pork Chops II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
We thought this was quite good -- a nice change from so many of the crockpot recipes that use canned cream soup as a base. The combination of spices and herbs sounds strange, but combined to make a nice, rich, herby flavor. Used the listed amounts of all the spices, w/a few exceptions: I replaced the tbsp of garlic powder w/onion powder (since I used 2 lrg cloves of fresh garlic crushed in my garlic press). I also seemed to be out of basil & oregano, so used nearly a tbsp of Italian seasoning. Also used more than 1 cup of broth, but less than the whole can, since I was cooking 6 chops inst. of 4. I cooked on low for 8 hours -- smelled SO delicious when I got home from work, and my husband wondered what smelled so great when he got home. The sauce was great over steamed rice and the meat was tender and flavorful. Even the kids liked it. All in all, a very easy, tasty recipe -- I will make this again. Would also be good w/a small pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
852 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: North Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
We loved this recipe! It has a mediterranean taste to it. I doubled the liquid and it cooked in half the time with 1 inch chops. My teenager boys loved it! The gravy was excellent over rice and steamed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
618 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I thought the meat was super tender and flavorful. I sauted the garlic in the oil first before mixing it with the rest of the spices. I also browned the chops in the same pan that I sauted the garlic in before adding to the crock pot. Plus I added extra chicken broth. Great served with long grain wild rice. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
488 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Loved it!!The best recipe I've found on this web-site in 5 ys. I agree it tasted mediterranean. I doubled the chicken broth, used garlic salt instead of powder, added green beans the last half hour, used pork loin chops, & served it over Basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyinseattle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
My daughter says this should be given 5 stars. I tend to agree. My husband loved it as well. The only thing I changed in this recipe was to cook it on low for 8 hours instead of 'high' for 4. I also added 2 cups of chicken broth instead of one. The chops were extremely tender and very tasty. This will be made again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Maitland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This recipe tasted great and the pork chops were so tender they ended up falling apart. The only down side was it was a little oily for me so next time I will reduce the oil. I also added a little balsamic vinegar to the mix for extra flavor. Overall very good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
These chops were great. They were so tender, you could cut through them with a fork. The spices/herb were strong, but very yummy. If you are at home while cooking these, it would be beneficial to baste or turn the chops every few hours. The bottom side of our chops were much more flavored than the top side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This recipe was VERY good! My husband isn't a huge fan of pork chops but I am and was looking for something easy to do with them yet still being flavorful. This recipe fit the bill! Most ingredients are those you would most likely have on hand in your kitchen and it doesn't get any easier than this. The pork chops literally were fall apart tender. I used thick chops and cooked them on low for 8 hours. EXCELLENT! Thank you so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Berger DeRespinis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I am not a big fan of pork chops but these were really good! They also got my husbands approval which is always good. I didn't use the oil and added a few more spices. I did use about 2 cups plus of broth because I had 6 chops. Cut up some onions and celery and let it go. Very good will use again they were very tender and not dry at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
For those of you who think you are a chef or just even a good cook.... Quit watching all the cooking shows and picking apart recipes that people put on here. This recipe I thought was very good. Unitl you come up with your own original recipe that "rocks" everyones world. "Shut the heck Up" It's about preferencem what you as and indiviudual likes. Grow the heck up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States