Slow Cooker Pork Chops and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I made this yesterday and cooked it on high for 4 hours - no mushy rice here! Also, we found it to be delicious - it was flavorful. I can't imagine it being too bland - there was enough salt in it between the butter, broth, Worcestershire and soup mix. I used a can of condensed beef broth - perhaps the others used low sodium or bouillon cubes? Anyway, even my kids liked it, and my husband said he would definitley like to have this again. It was very easy to prepare and the meat was so tender! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Made this yesterday - it was very tasty. My rice was not mushy, but I cooked on high for 4 hours, maybe that is the key to this recipe. We found it very flavorful and the pork chops were super tender. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I have made this recipe many times and my family asks for it at least once a month. I usually double the amount of rice and liquids because the rice is the favorite part for my family. I like to use parboiled rice because it seems to always turn out perfect, never mushy. I sometimes just make the rice by itself and serve it with a roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Smith Ayala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
this is an excellent base recipe. I used pork roast instead of chops. I did 4 hours on the slow cooker. I added the rice 2 hours into the bake. I added water, onions, onion soup mix, peas, pepper, and a little more water after I noticed the rice a little dry. I didnt add anything else, so I didnt do this recipe exact. It came out wonderful. My hubby says his mom would put the rice underneath the meat so it gets all the juices and IS mushy, which they like. Since I added my rice late, and on top, it wasnt mushy. It was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was so good...the meat just fell off the bone! (I didn't have boneless). I had to make a few changes based on what I did and didn't have on hand. I used 1 C. of brown rice (better glycemic index for my diabetic husband) and 2 C. of beef broth made from a beef base. I didn't have an envelope of onion soup mix so had to do without. Had no water chestnuts either so I doubled the amount of mushrooms. I sprinkled a little seasoned salt while the pork chops were browning. They cooked on low for 6-1/2 hours. The rice turned out very good...brown rice doesn't get mushy as easily. Next time (and there will be one!) I will plan ahead and add the ingredients that I didn't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This recipe is so easy and has wonderful flavor! Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I tried this recipe for the first time today. My picky son loved it. The whole family loved it. I seasoned my chops w/ natural season salt, pepper, minced garlic, & added Worchestire sauce to the chicken broth, onion mix, and butter in slow cooker. I didnt' put in the other ingredients. When my chops were about 30 minutes from being done I put in 2 cups of instant rice and it was a great, perfectly cooked meal. I should've added more water b/c my rice ended up very seasoned but, everyone loved it. I loved it also but, was scared it would run up my blood pressure. Oh, I never cook b/c I'm terrible at it but, I think I'm hooked on allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Family loved this! I adjusted based on what I had on hand: 1 1/3 c. brown rice, 1/4 c. butter, frozen diced onions, sliced mushrooms, bag of frozen peas, 1 can of chicken broth, few shakes of Worcestershire. Put the chops right on top of it all without browning them first. Turned the crock pot on high and checked on it after 90 minutes. Looked like it was going to be soupy, so I added a can of cream of mushroom soup to thicken it up. After another 60 minutes on high, it was done and I had to add a little bit of water because it got too thick! But it was very tasty. Next time I will cook it longer on a lower temp and not add the creamy soup and see how that works. Overall a very good recipe that is easy to customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was very easy to make and the family LOVED it. I will defintely be making this again and my rice didn't come out mushy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
VERY GOOD EASY TO MAKE FAST GOOD DINNER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States