Slow Cooker Pork Chops and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I made this yesterday and cooked it on high for 4 hours - no mushy rice here! Also, we found it to be delicious - it was flavorful. I can't imagine it being too bland - there was enough salt in it between the butter, broth, Worcestershire and soup mix. I used a can of condensed beef broth - perhaps the others used low sodium or bouillon cubes? Anyway, even my kids liked it, and my husband said he would definitley like to have this again. It was very easy to prepare and the meat was so tender! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I tried the suggestion posted by others here to cook the dish on high for four hours to avoid mushy rice. Well, mine was still mushy, but not so much as to be unpalatable. I also used a package of flavored white and wild rice. The wild rice was much less mushy, so maybe if I make this again (and I might, as the boyfriend loved it), I'll just use wild rice. Because of the flavoring, I subbed out the beef broth for water. I also added a ton of herbs from the garden--the ones that worked best in this dish were basil, rosemary, parsley, and sage. I cut up cloves of garlic into quarters and put them on top of the pork chops. They turned out perfectly, and next time I try that trick I'll probably increase the amount of garlic used by 50%. Eating the pork chops with the garlic was about the only thing that made the chops worth eating, though. They were pretty dry, but the thicker pieces fared a little better. Spreading some horseradish on top helped when the garlic ran out. I also tossed some carrots in the crock pot, and they absorbed a lot of the flavor from the rice. This rating gets a three because I had to modify it heavily and it still turned out just okay. It managed to avoid a lower score because it is easy to make and the boyfriend wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kxo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This really turned out for me. I used all brown rice, and when I browned my chops I did it in butter, seasoning salt, and poultry powder. My family really liked it. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Made this yesterday - it was very tasty. My rice was not mushy, but I cooked on high for 4 hours, maybe that is the key to this recipe. We found it very flavorful and the pork chops were super tender. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
When I started it I thought it would be wonderful but it turned out terrible. I followed this recipes exactly and the rice turned to mush (not minute rice either) and the pork chops were bland. It was a waste of money. We threw it out and went to Wendy's. Sorry...maybe if it was tweaked it would be better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
this is an excellent base recipe. I used pork roast instead of chops. I did 4 hours on the slow cooker. I added the rice 2 hours into the bake. I added water, onions, onion soup mix, peas, pepper, and a little more water after I noticed the rice a little dry. I didnt add anything else, so I didnt do this recipe exact. It came out wonderful. My hubby says his mom would put the rice underneath the meat so it gets all the juices and IS mushy, which they like. Since I added my rice late, and on top, it wasnt mushy. It was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I have made this recipe many times and my family asks for it at least once a month. I usually double the amount of rice and liquids because the rice is the favorite part for my family. I like to use parboiled rice because it seems to always turn out perfect, never mushy. I sometimes just make the rice by itself and serve it with a roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Smith Ayala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I didn't have all the ingredients listed so I substituted the onion soup mix for Knor's Vegetable Soup and used country style pork ribs.......EXCELLENT! It's now become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NinaT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
No water chest nuts or mushrooms. Added carrots and green beans. Used salt, cayenne, and curry instead of onion mix. It was delicious and the rice and vegetables were just the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was so good...the meat just fell off the bone! (I didn't have boneless). I had to make a few changes based on what I did and didn't have on hand. I used 1 C. of brown rice (better glycemic index for my diabetic husband) and 2 C. of beef broth made from a beef base. I didn't have an envelope of onion soup mix so had to do without. Had no water chestnuts either so I doubled the amount of mushrooms. I sprinkled a little seasoned salt while the pork chops were browning. They cooked on low for 6-1/2 hours. The rice turned out very good...brown rice doesn't get mushy as easily. Next time (and there will be one!) I will plan ahead and add the ingredients that I didn't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States