Slow Cooker Pork Chops and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
this was very very dissapointing I followed the recipe and the rice was mushy and the pork chops were so bland!!! I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I used a wild rice blend but it still came out mushy. The flavor was ok but not impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cashoda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
There is a problem with the rice getting too soft. I used brown rice and it was soft after only 2 hours on high. This recipe was very good tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I didn't have all the ingredients listed so I substituted the onion soup mix for Knor's Vegetable Soup and used country style pork ribs.......EXCELLENT! It's now become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NinaT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This recipe is so easy and has wonderful flavor! Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I tried this recipe today and will not be making this again. I cooked it on low for 5 hours and the rice was way over cooked (turned to mush) and the pork was very dry as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Sakowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This really turned out for me. I used all brown rice, and when I browned my chops I did it in butter, seasoning salt, and poultry powder. My family really liked it. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I tried the suggestion posted by others here to cook the dish on high for four hours to avoid mushy rice. Well, mine was still mushy, but not so much as to be unpalatable. I also used a package of flavored white and wild rice. The wild rice was much less mushy, so maybe if I make this again (and I might, as the boyfriend loved it), I'll just use wild rice. Because of the flavoring, I subbed out the beef broth for water. I also added a ton of herbs from the garden--the ones that worked best in this dish were basil, rosemary, parsley, and sage. I cut up cloves of garlic into quarters and put them on top of the pork chops. They turned out perfectly, and next time I try that trick I'll probably increase the amount of garlic used by 50%. Eating the pork chops with the garlic was about the only thing that made the chops worth eating, though. They were pretty dry, but the thicker pieces fared a little better. Spreading some horseradish on top helped when the garlic ran out. I also tossed some carrots in the crock pot, and they absorbed a lot of the flavor from the rice. This rating gets a three because I had to modify it heavily and it still turned out just okay. It managed to avoid a lower score because it is easy to make and the boyfriend wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kxo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I used regular uncooked rice and it was still all mushy. What a disappointment after waiting all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Made this yesterday - it was very tasty. My rice was not mushy, but I cooked on high for 4 hours, maybe that is the key to this recipe. We found it very flavorful and the pork chops were super tender. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States