Slow Cooker Pork Chops and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I used 1" thick boneless pork chops. They were fall apart good. I used a 4 rice mix (white, red, brown and wild.) and it turned into a globby mush. The amount of onion in it was overwhelming fo rme. I'm going to make this again, but will probably cook for some time and add the rice in the last 2 hours or something...also, leaving out a bunch of the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I used brown rice and cooked on low all day. When I came home the house smelled amazing... however, I was disappointed when I opened the crockpot to find mushy and flavorless rice to go with my pork chops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
VERY GOOD EASY TO MAKE FAST GOOD DINNER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
this is an excellent base recipe. I used pork roast instead of chops. I did 4 hours on the slow cooker. I added the rice 2 hours into the bake. I added water, onions, onion soup mix, peas, pepper, and a little more water after I noticed the rice a little dry. I didnt add anything else, so I didnt do this recipe exact. It came out wonderful. My hubby says his mom would put the rice underneath the meat so it gets all the juices and IS mushy, which they like. Since I added my rice late, and on top, it wasnt mushy. It was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was very easy to make and the family LOVED it. I will defintely be making this again and my rice didn't come out mushy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Family loved this! I adjusted based on what I had on hand: 1 1/3 c. brown rice, 1/4 c. butter, frozen diced onions, sliced mushrooms, bag of frozen peas, 1 can of chicken broth, few shakes of Worcestershire. Put the chops right on top of it all without browning them first. Turned the crock pot on high and checked on it after 90 minutes. Looked like it was going to be soupy, so I added a can of cream of mushroom soup to thicken it up. After another 60 minutes on high, it was done and I had to add a little bit of water because it got too thick! But it was very tasty. Next time I will cook it longer on a lower temp and not add the creamy soup and see how that works. Overall a very good recipe that is easy to customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Really liked it and I am not typically a fan of pork chops. They came out so tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
The pork was tender, flavor ok, the rice didn't get squishy, it was fine. A nice easy one pot meal. However, my picky guys didn't like it, so we won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I tried this recipe for the first time today. My picky son loved it. The whole family loved it. I seasoned my chops w/ natural season salt, pepper, minced garlic, & added Worchestire sauce to the chicken broth, onion mix, and butter in slow cooker. I didnt' put in the other ingredients. When my chops were about 30 minutes from being done I put in 2 cups of instant rice and it was a great, perfectly cooked meal. I should've added more water b/c my rice ended up very seasoned but, everyone loved it. I loved it also but, was scared it would run up my blood pressure. Oh, I never cook b/c I'm terrible at it but, I think I'm hooked on allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I loved this recipe. Lots of flavor. I gave it only 4 stars b/c I did make some changes after reaing some of the other reviews. I made it in the oven instead of the slow cooker to avoid the mushy rice. Followed the recipe exept put in a 9X13 pan and covered. Baked at 400 for 1 hour. Also I seasoned the pork chops to add a little extra flavor to them. It turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States