Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
This was delicious. Only problem was the chops came out so tender, they were falling apart in pieces and I couldn't lift out whole ones. Also, this makes A LOT of sauce so either add more chops or do like I did which was to serve spaghetti noodles on the side. I still have a lot of sauce left over. Next time, I will probably 1/2 the sauce. Thanks, Teresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
I thought I was onto something great here until I tasted the meat. The flavor didn't permeate the meat and it all smelled better than it tasted. Rather lackluster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This was quite good, however I don't think it needed to be slow cooked. Te sauce was excellent, one of the better ones I have had. I will make this again, however I might just brown the pork, and cover with cheese while it's in the pan, and then smother in the sauce, skipping the slowcooker entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
I thought this recipe was great. I used chicken instead of pork chops and my family loved it. I froze the extra suace to use over noodles and now I have a another meal. Thanks Teresa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
We all loved this. I used chicken (leg quarters with bones and thighs without) and the meat fell off the bone when I took it out. So I ended up stirring it all together into a kind of sauce and putting the whole thing over pasta. My kids (5 and 2) devoured it. And it did make a ton! I have two batches in the freezer for other nights. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
This is a nice, different recipe for pork. I dredged my pork chops (boneless) in Italian bread crumbs before browning. We love the texture of the diced tomatoes (I added those later in the cooking time). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Family really liked this recipe. I stuck with using pork chops but I felt that more than four could be used, there was a whole lot of sauce left over. Six chops is what I would use next time. Also only used a 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes, 28 oz. is not needed. Next time I will try a previous reviewers suggestion and coat chops in bread crumbs before browning. Great, uncomplicated recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
The sauce was great! I didn't have fresh mushrooms so used canned (drained) and skipped the wine. (Had that *with* dinner!) I didn't like the pork chops; I'd use chicken thighs next time and cut back on the cooking time by an hour. I used thick cut chops and browned them first. I think the browning seared the outside preventing liquid from penetrating the meat as the chops were dry. So, I shredded the pork and served it over rice and it went over well with the family. I would probably just throw it all in the pot without precooking anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I cooked this for some friends I had round for supper, it was a easy to put together and leave in the slow cooker, we had home made crusty bread with lashings of garlic butter with it. my friends enjoyed it so much that they all went home withe recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
My husband LOVED this dish. I didn't really care for the pork. As other users stated, it was a bit dry and the flavor didn't seem to penetrate the meat. Though, I like meat very tender, even though this did fall off the bone. I think it is a personal taste. I will make this again for my family, it was easy, low fat, and filling! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore

See how to make perfectly tender pork cacciatore in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States