Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
oh man, this was SO amazing and simple!!! wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
It smelt and tasted good...but the sauce was soupy and way too much of it.....I just stuck them right in the slowcooker with out browning and cooked on high for 4 hours and turned out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kait20

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I had planned on making this in the crockpot but forgot to put it all together in the morning, even still I used the same indredients, but did it on the stove. I browned the garlic and onions in olive oil; added the pork chops and the rest of the ingredients and let it sit on the stove for about half an hour. I served with some noodles with xtra virgin olive oil drizzled on top. My three kids raved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is good. I used pork chops with bones in them, but that is annoying. Next time, I want to use boneless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA0902

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
my family loved this recipe, nice flavour and very nice with rice too! I will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I thought that it was good, but I think that it was a little too watery/runny. The sauce could have been a little thicker. It was definitely good, and something different for dinner, but to be honest I don't think that I will make it again, at least not frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I wasn't too sure about this recipe, especially made with pork but surprisingly enough... it was delicious! I didn't want to stray away from the original recipe since it was my first time making it & I was already skeptical about it. I seared the pork very quickly in a frying pan, just put it on there & took it right off, amazingly the pork was not dry at all which is one of the things I was worried about. I calculated for 6 people and I never ended up using all that sauce nor the 2 cans of diced tomatoes, it would have been way too watery, almost "soupy." I only cooked it about 6 hours on high and that was more than enough time, I can't imagine cooking it 8+ hours! I think it would have tasted better with chicken but it was a nice change with the pork as well. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Excellent as written. Lots of yummy sauce. Soooo good on tomorrow's pasta. As a personal preference, added a dash of worcestershire sauce and a bit of red pepper flakes for a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Marys, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I will begin my review with a quote from my UPS driver who delivered a package to the door, just as I put the last spice into the sauce. He said, “What is that cooking? It smells YUUUM YUUUUM!” I could just end it there but I will go ahead and share some of my experience. Since I was going to be home and my meat was frozen, I decided that starting dinner could wait until later, and then I could brown the meat, I could brown the veggies, I could add the sauce, I could add the meat, and simmer on the stove for a few hours, all in the one same pan. I know the purpose is probably suppose to be to let it cook together slowly all day and not worry about it, but I figured if I was going to dirty a pan to brown the stuff, I would just finish cooking it in the same pan. There was a lot of sauce but this is a positive thing since I served it with spaghetti noodles. This was certainly delicious and I sure wouldn’t contradict a recipe from an Italian, but I do believe that for my own personal preference and the way that I like to cook (and clean up) if I use the slow cooker, I will just put it all in at one time. And the slow cooker would be the way to go if I didn’t have time to tend to it on the stove but it did turn out ma’ velous on the stove. I served it with a Romaine salad and some garlic bread made from some homemade bread I had baked yesterday (I know! I was shocked too!) Anyways, wonderful meal. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
As written, the recipe is bland and watery. It needs salt, at a minimum (I can't believe none is called for!), and I'd be careful what kind of pork chop I used in the recipe. Mine came out dry and tough--which I should have expected, frankly, from long cooking of lean meat in an acidic sauce. Another reviewer is totally correct in suggesting the use of a tougher, fattier cut. Other changes I'd recommend would be using flour when browning the chops to help thicken the sauce, and carefully draining the tomatoes. I used dried mushrooms which I thought would help soak up the liquid, but it still was more like soup than sauce. Perhaps next time I'd also leave the cover off the cooker for the last hour or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore

See how to make perfectly tender pork cacciatore in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States