Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I grew up in a predominately Italian neighborhood; where three generations in the home; was the norm. The grandparents were usually from the “Old Country.” The smells of food cooking all day long filled the air. This recipe is reminiscent of those days. Awesome flavor! I used fresh Roma tomatoes instead of canned. The Pork was cheap; country style ribs on sale for $169 per pound and it cooked up fork tender. There is a flavor that only comes from slow cooking meat in a tomato sauce. This recipe gets my five star stamp of approval.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by broblake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I wasn't sure how this combination of ingredients would blend, but the flavor of sauce was amazing. Followed recipe as stated and it was very good. Tasted great as leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Hess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This recipe is so easy and as it cooks throughout the day the smell is fantastic! I didn't brown the pork or veggies, I just threw all the ingredients on top of the pork chops in the cooker and it turned out AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekadams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
We loved this - the only change I made was to add tomato paste to thicken up the watery sauce - the taste was great, and it's easy to make - definitely a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious! A meal the whole family loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Very bland-we did not care for this at all. The sauce was also extremely watery. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Old Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe ingredients exactly except for the pork, which I didn't have. Also used two jars of pasta sauce. I used frozen chicken breasts and added them directly to the crock pot without thawing. Threw everything together and cooked on low for about 7 hours. The chicken was moist and falling apart. Sprinkled our dishes with grated mozzarella because that's what I had and served over mini-fusilli pasta. It tasted even better the next day. My husband and I both really enjoyed this. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Delicious and a nice change from chicken. I used red wine instead of white because it was open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Good flavors....just a little dry....i used very lean pork chops that were on the thinner side...did not fry any of the meat or veggies prior..everything in the crock pot. I also used a 28oz.can of crushed tomatoes instead of jarred sauce and used 14oz can of fire roasted tomatoes. Tasty....especially using red and green peppers. Will make again ..maybe with a different cut of pork. Served over whole grain pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very tasty. I used both pork and chicken together. Definitely makes a lot of sauce so glad that I added the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore

See how to make perfectly tender pork cacciatore in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States