Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I followed most of the above recipe but I had to make a few changes when I realized I didn't have a few ingredients! I used marinated artichoke hearts instead of the mushrooms, one small can of tomato paste with 18 ounces of water because I didn't have jarred spaghetti sauce and red wine instead of white. And you what? It turned out great. I started it at 10:30AM and put it in my crock pot on high. It was ready to eat by 1:30PM when my husband came home for lunch. the lid of the crock pot during the cooking process and the sauce will thicken nicely. Also, if the sauce is tart, add 1/4 tsp of baking soda and a teaspoon of sugar. The baking soda reduces the acidity of the tomato sauce. Add salt and pepper to taste during the cooking process. This is great recipe. I normally don't change the ingredients to recipes when I make them for the first time, but I had to after realizing I was missing a few. Also, if the sauce should taste bland, add more garlic, basil and italian seasoning. Remember, it's to your taste. If you don't like the taste after following the directions, doctor the recipe to suit you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjk920

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Can omit browning ..put everything in crock together...use 14 oz can diced tomatoes and half the wine......cook 4-5 hrs...it's plenty of time.....can also use frozen chicken or pork then cook for full time....really ez...add more spices....needs a little extra seasoning...add grated pram cheese instead of mozzarella......worth making...great with pasta...lots of sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Just made this tonight with pork steak.. really great flavor. Very easy. I made it very close to the original. added a little extra garlic.. browned the meat and veggies.. used fire roasted tomatoes and a small jar of pasta sauce. Sounded a little strange but the reviews I read were so good that I tried it... execellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
smart moves on this recipe. Saute the veg and brown the pork. Otherwise, really, really ugly and bland crock pot product!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Great recipe. Used beef for both tacos and burritos. One change and one add on. I used one can of beef consommé (Campbell's ), and added a layer of onions on bottom of crockpot. Perfect! Phddeb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This was okay. I'm not sure I would make it again. Everyone ate it, but no one was "Wow this was good"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Fantastic, comforting meal. Very tasty. The only thing I did differently was shred the pork before serving which is how I typically do chicken cacciatore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This recipe makes a great meat sauce for pasta. I followed it pretty closely, only making a few minor changes. I omitted the olive oil, because it isn’t necessary in the crockpot. I also used 6 cloves of garlic. I used about 7 chopped vine tomatoes instead of the canned tomatoes so it wasn’t so watery. As for the pork make sure you use a fatty cut otherwise it will be dry. I also just threw the pork in the crockpot raw. The second time I made this I used rabbit, and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
AMAZING!!! My super picky vegetable-hating step dad absolutely LOVED this recipe!... mind you I did reduce the amount of pepper and mushrooms and made sure everything was cooked the way he liked it. I couldn't keep my mom away from this either, despite her intolerance to all the spices used. Delicious! Will definitely make again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is a TERRIFIC meal with the pork melt-in-your-mouth tender, and the FLAVOR from the tomatoes, pepper, onion, mushroom, garlic, and seasonings exploding in your mouth!! I used 2 drained, diced tomato cans instead of sauce and added a packet of dry, spaghetti seasonings with a cup of water, last time I made this recipe. I served the pork and sauce on egg noodles which the family also enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore

See how to make perfectly tender pork cacciatore in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States