Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Made this for my parents tonight and they loved it! I followed recipe except I used 8 pork chops and one 15 oz. can of fire-roasted tomatoes (all I had), 6 cloves of garlic (we like garlic!) and both a red and green bell pepper. The sauce is a little thin but could be adjusted to preferred consistency. I cooked it in slow cooker 3 hours on high, came out perfectly, meat very tender! Don't skip the mozzarella cheese! It's delicious! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I am always looking for low sodium recipes so made my own sauce with crushed tomatoes, tomato paste and no sodium diced tomatoes. I had to add more seasonings but that is very easy to do. It tasted great the first day and even better the next day. I did add some grated Romano cheese but not much since it is so salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
The flavor was absolutely delicious. Only thing is that it came out pretty watery. I did not add extra water to the crock pot. Next time I may leave out the wine and try to drain as much liquid off the veggies before moving to the crock pot as possible. May also drain the diced tomatoes before adding. I used a cabernet marinara and it was phenomenal. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This was a great recipe. Like a few others suggested, I did not cook my pork chops beforehand, and they turned out very tender. I used nice, thick pork chops (3/4 in.). My husband does not like mushrooms, so instead of using them, I used 1 cup of diced eggplant as a substitute, and the recipe was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Here are a couple suggestions that I have for this recipe: 1. Dry chop? Use a chop that has MORE fat content. This is what gives any cut of meat more moistness. You can also use boneless chicken thighs for this recipe to change it up a bit. They stay moist! 2. Falling apart? Use a thicker cut chop than you would usually use. These will hold up better to the long cooking time. You can also decrease the cooking time by about 2 hours. Your pork WILL be done. 3. Not enough taste for you? Add your own spin on things and make it YOUR recipe without bashing the original. 4. No wine? Although that is an essential element, just use water and choose fire roasted tomatoes for more flavor. Water works fine if you are against using alcohol in your cooking. 5. Don't want to brown your chops? Don't. But, searing the pork will help it stay together and not fall apart as badly. I think the recipe is wonderful and I have it stored in my recipe box. I do add my own spin on things by using fire roasted tomatoes and sauce and port mushrooms. I've also made it with the chicken, which you can throw in frozen if you choose, and it is delicious. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Really good, and easy! I decided to brown it with flour and seasoning like other people did, and I can't say that kept the sauce thick or not, as I also drained the tomatoes. There was still a bit of extra liquid, but we liked it. I used roasted red peppers as other people did--only peppers I had in the house. I don't like mushrooms, but I just pulled them out on my plate since hubs does like them. A note: if you are worried about dry pork chops, just cook for less time. I cooked for about 2 hours on high and they were perfectly cooked and delicious. I put a thermometer in the crock pot before turning off to make sure, and the temp was definitely over 160, so it was fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This recipe is delicious! Didn't brown the chops, but followed other directions. Served over pasta. Will keep this in our meal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Everybody loved it definitely a do over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Amazing! Great for cold evenings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore

See how to make perfectly tender pork cacciatore in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States