Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This recipe is delicious! Didn't brown the chops, but followed other directions. Served over pasta. Will keep this in our meal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Everybody loved it definitely a do over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Amazing! Great for cold evenings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the idea. I used a 5lb boneless pork loin roast, seasoned heavily with salt, pepper, oregano, basil, garlic powder. Sautéed 2 chopped small onions & lots of fresh garlic in a bit of olive oil. Moved onion garlic to side and then browned my loin on all sides just to seal, placed in crock pot and poured onion and garlic over roast. Turned to the lowest setting (10 hrs) cooked for 1 hr, then poured 2 jars of sauce and 2 cans of Italian style stewed tomatoes, 1 cup of "red" cabernet sauvignon, and tons of spices (crushed red pepper, basil, oregano, sea salt, peper,etc..) WE LIKE SPICE! Let cook another hour, then I sautéed in a bit of olive oil, 2 sliced green/red peppers for just a few minutes, then added lots of sliced mushrooms (about 16 oz) until a "golden" brown (NOT TOO LONG!) and added to the crock pot. Gave it a mix and let cook for another maybe 3 hours. Came home, checked the temp of pork and it was done! Took roast out and let rest. I cut thin slices of roast(divine just like that) placed back in sauce while noodles cooked. Served over angel hair pasta with freshly ground Parmesan/Romano, salad and some crusty Italian bread. OMG this was DELISH! My family of 4 from 9-55 yrs LOVED this dish :) Will definitely make again! If no time, place everything in crock right from the start! 5 hrs for 5/6 lb ROAST perfect but less time would have worked as well. 7-8 hrs for 4 chops WAY TOOOOO LONG that's why I gave 4 stars. The chops would be so dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
For years I've done a pork cacciatore in the oven that comes out tender and moist each time. However, I thought I would try this slow cooker version due to the convenience of using the crock pot. I followed the recipe as written except for the mushrooms (neither my husband nor I are mushroom lovers). I was disappointed. I found the meat dry and the sauce a bit watery. I'll be sticking to my oven version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I found this recipe absolutely divine. Contrary to others I found the pork moist and flavoursome. I did add an extra clove of garlic to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe with one exception. Tomato sauce is nothing more than tomatoes, fresh or canned, and seasonings and maybe onion if you like it. I don't understand why everyone feels it is necessary to add a "jar of sauce" to this recipe when you are already making your own sauce with the tomatoes and seasonings. What happens is that cooking the "jar of sauce" for another 7 hours makes a really acidic and STRONG sauce. Next time I make it, I will simply add a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes instead of that costly "jar of sauce" and I'm sure I will end up with a very nice tasting tomato sauce. I am not a crockpot fan, but I would definitely make this again. I really enjoyed it (minus the extra acid in the way too cooked jar of sauce). Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzitish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Delicious & simple comfort food! Loved this recipe, I served over spinach pasta. I made pretty much as written but added some fresh basil and oregano, red and yellow peppers in addition to the green. I had two huge center-cut pork chops, so I just added one 15 oz can of diced tomatoes and a half a 32 oz jar of sauce. Lots of sauce left over, I froze it and I'll use for a side of pasta with grilled sausages. After 7 hours low this was fall-apart tender. Thanks for sharing a great recipe, Sneakyteaky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was so easy, and really good. Everyone in my family, including my toddler, chowed down on this. The pork got so tender it practically fell apart without cutting, and the melted cheese on top of everything was delicious. I prepped it all the night before and put it in the fridge overnight, then started the slow cooker in the morning. I served it in the evening with spaghetti for a quick weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore

See how to make perfectly tender pork cacciatore in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States