Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Made this last weekend. Followed the recipe, results were great. Family says do it again soon and it is high on their list for when we have company over for super. One thing I did do is make my own linguini pasta. The sauce is so good, I now have it on my keep it made up foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dadeville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
My husband does not like pork. Therefore I substituted pork for chicken thighs, which as I knew would fall apart & become shredded chicken. It was a little runny, just felt like it was missing something. I did season the chicken with season-all, pepper & garlic powder before I put it in the slow cooker. It does taste better the 2nd day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This is a delicious recipe! I read all the reviews and made a few adjustments, came out wonderful. I used 8 boneless pork loin chops. I don't see why you would use only 4 since this makes so much sauce. I sprinkled my chops with Emeril's Essence and pepper and browned them in the oil. Then , I put them in my crock pot and browned the onions , adding in about 6 cloves of minced garlic after the onions were tender. Then added in the green pepper, mushrooms and I also added a chopped zucchini and a red bell pepper too.I chopped my onion and bell peppers as a personal preference to the sliced. I used Prego for my pasta sauce and only used 1 (14 1/2 ounce) can of fire roasted diced tomatoes. I only used 1/4 cup of wine and it was Burgundy , not white. In addition to the seasonings, I added 1 teaspoon salt, a pinch of oregano, some sugar, crushed red pepper flakes and Worcestershire sauce. To thicken it up, a couple tablespoons of tomato paste works great. Also added a bay leaf. Cooked on high for the first hour and then on low for 3-4 more hours. No way does this need 7-8 hours. Served it with thin spaghetti and garlic bread. Sprinkled it with shredded mozzarella fresh grated Parmesan, and fresh minced parsley. Adding fresh minced parsley into the sauce the last hour or so of cooking time is a good idea too. Next time I'd like to try the pork loin with the bone to see if it's even more flavorful. It was so delicious this time though, I will be making this often. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Fulk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
not as flavorful as we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimmie Childs
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I made a few changes; hence, the four stars. I set up my slow cooker in layers. Cook chops until lightly brown on each side. Cut off fat after they cook so it cooks in some of the fat juices. Put chops into slow cooker. Turn heat down to med-low add sliced onions. cook until brown. i sliced up my peppers and mushrooms while they cooked. Add peppers and let the onion and peppers cook alone for a bit then add mushrooms. I added minced garlic while the mix cooked until tender on med- high heat. Add to slow cooker on top of chops. Turn heat to med. I used a jar of Barilla Tuscan herb and a can of Tuttorossi crushed tomatoes. I didn't have any cans of diced tomatoes in the house so i diced a fresh tomato. I put the fresh tomato in first... added my 2 sauces...next time im using two cans of Tuttorossi i like to add my own seasonings and tomato paste. I added a dash of italian seasoning, a dash of basil, a dash of garlic salt, and oregano to taste. I added 1/4 cup of reisling instead of white wine because i didn't have white wine and 1/8 of chicken broth. I let that simmer a while then added sauce to slow cooker. I cooked on low for 7hrs. Served with rotelle pasta and salad. I suggest for mothers that want to make this fast make your sauce and mushroom mix the night before so sauce can simmer a bit. i saw someone suggest just combining it all in the pot, but i think its a crime not to simmer your sauce. ***USE A WOODEN SPOON*** ADD SEASONINGS TO SAUCE TO YOUR TASTE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie Childs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I made this for dinner yesterday exactly as written and both my husband and I were thrilled at such a wonderful meal. Thank you, as this is definately a keeper as well as a 5 star dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
#1. Yes a bit watery, and LOTS of sauce. We ate the sauce on Spaghetti the first night, as I started the recipe late. Sauce on Spaghetti was excellent. Put the crock pot in the fridge overnight, pork chops still needed more time, only had about 4-5 hours of cooking time first day, and started it up the next day about 10 AM. By 3PM the chops were braking apart, ready for supper. Oh YEAH !! Followed the recipe EXACTLY, and just a taste of the sauce made my mouth water and cringe with delight. Going to share this one with family and friends, not something I do often, this one is worthy. To thicken the sauce a little maybe could add a little corn starch or masa, didn't bother me, I wiped it all up with garlic bread : ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Easy, fresh and delicious. Used 4 frozen chicken breasts (could've added a couple more for meat-to-sauce ratio), dropped in the crockpot as is and followed the rest of the recipe as is... adding only one can of tomato paste, 1t of salt and an extra 1t of basil. Was a great, easy, enjoyable dinner! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TILO0002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I had no spaghetti sauce so I used Alfredo sauce instead. It was absolutely delicious. Next time I shall use the speghetti sauce. It will be one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
My husband and I both thought this was excellent. I used all of the listed ingredients, but I cooked it in the pressure cooker for 30 minutes--about right for my model. The meat was moist and tender...very good. The only thing I would change next time is to omit the white wine. I use a very good and tasty low carb pasta sauce, and I felt the wine actually detracted from it. I used some garlic salt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore

See how to make perfectly tender pork cacciatore in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States