Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I had no spaghetti sauce so I used Alfredo sauce instead. It was absolutely delicious. Next time I shall use the speghetti sauce. It will be one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
My husband and I both thought this was excellent. I used all of the listed ingredients, but I cooked it in the pressure cooker for 30 minutes--about right for my model. The meat was moist and tender...very good. The only thing I would change next time is to omit the white wine. I use a very good and tasty low carb pasta sauce, and I felt the wine actually detracted from it. I used some garlic salt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Fantastic and Easy!! It's also superb with chicken. If you're short on time, or don't have a slow cooker, it can be cooked on top of the stove using low heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I followed the recipe ,but followed others advice to cook for 4 hours. The dish was very good but the sauce was a little too watery for my taste and the chops were a tad dry. It was easy to make and I love any dish that includes veggies! I will folow others advice and next time will use some pork with a little more fat. I used Barilla Tuscan sauce and Hunts basil, oregano, and garlic diced tomatoes. and included the white wine. Made a very nice semi-homemade sauce. I think taking some of the sauce and using an immersion blender then adding it back in, would thicken up the sauce. It's a great base recipe and I'll definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Ver nice idea. Like earlier reviewers I did not feel good about using todays' ultra lean pork chops. Instead I used a nice thick, well trimmed,2 1/2 ib. pork sirloin roast. I browned it lightly with olive oil, course sea salt and a pepper mixture and then put in the slow cooker with the diced tomatoes. Cooked for 1 1/2 hours and added the sauteed onions and green pepper. Cooked for 45 minutes, and drained off all the liquid. While the roast continued to cook I thickened the drained tomato base liquid with a small amount of corn starch to resolve the "watery" issue noted by some other reviewers. I put the thickened stock back in the cooker and added about 60% of a large jar of Arribiata Pasta sauce, continuing to cook for another 2 1/2 hours or just under 5 hours total. I added mushrooms in the last hour so that they dd not overcook. The roast was wonderfully tender, moist and flavorful--not quite the consistency of pulled pork but close enough to make serving easy and eating a delight. The sauce was of moderate spiciness (it worked for my family who ranges from delighting in spiciness to those who prefer little) and of perfect consistency for the pasta on top of which I served the pork and sauce and vegetable mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
It's a nice recipe. Like others, if I'm cooking it in the slow cooker, I just pile everything in and let it go, but for no more than five or six hours on low. I use half the quantity of sauce for three pounds of pork, and I prefer the boneless country ribs, which I cut into serving pieces. Canned mushrooms drianed work well for me - I use baby shitakes canned whole and keep them whole. I prefer fresh herbs to dried, which is possible if they grow in your garden in season, but dry are fine otherwise. Most of the time I don't have time to cook in the slow cooker, so I fry up everything first as the recipe says and put it in a baking dish or casserole and cook at 350 f for about a half hour. No problem with the meat falling apart if you do this, and there is also no problem in getting it cooked tender. I don't put any cheese on the pork, but it's nice to brown the top of the dish by sprinkling on some parmesan or romano and putting it back in the oven for five to ten minutes. Three cheers for Italy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Cooked this yesterday, aroma drove us crazy! Stopped crockpot after 4-1/2 hrs and chops were so fall apart tender and taste was great. Added some cracked pepper to sauce shortly before serving and put meat on a bed of linguine, covered with sauce and shredded asiago cheese on top. Served with garlic bread. This is really a keeper!! Thank you sneakyteaky for submitting this to share with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I followed most of the above recipe but I had to make a few changes when I realized I didn't have a few ingredients! I used marinated artichoke hearts instead of the mushrooms, one small can of tomato paste with 18 ounces of water because I didn't have jarred spaghetti sauce and red wine instead of white. And you what? It turned out great. I started it at 10:30AM and put it in my crock pot on high. It was ready to eat by 1:30PM when my husband came home for lunch. the lid of the crock pot during the cooking process and the sauce will thicken nicely. Also, if the sauce is tart, add 1/4 tsp of baking soda and a teaspoon of sugar. The baking soda reduces the acidity of the tomato sauce. Add salt and pepper to taste during the cooking process. This is great recipe. I normally don't change the ingredients to recipes when I make them for the first time, but I had to after realizing I was missing a few. Also, if the sauce should taste bland, add more garlic, basil and italian seasoning. Remember, it's to your taste. If you don't like the taste after following the directions, doctor the recipe to suit you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjk920

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Can omit browning ..put everything in crock together...use 14 oz can diced tomatoes and half the wine......cook 4-5 hrs...it's plenty of time.....can also use frozen chicken or pork then cook for full time....really ez...add more spices....needs a little extra seasoning...add grated pram cheese instead of mozzarella......worth making...great with pasta...lots of sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Just made this tonight with pork steak.. really great flavor. Very easy. I made it very close to the original. added a little extra garlic.. browned the meat and veggies.. used fire roasted tomatoes and a small jar of pasta sauce. Sounded a little strange but the reviews I read were so good that I tried it... execellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore

See how to make perfectly tender pork cacciatore in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States