Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
After seeing all the positive reviews, I was very hopeful for this recipe. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed. I followed the recipe to the letter and for the effort and price, it just isn't worth a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Great recipe. Says it only serves 4 but I had enough sauce left over for several more pasta meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Like some others, I could not bring myself to subject an expensive, lean cut of meat like chops to this kind of braising. I used a boneless butt roast. Otherwise, I prepared it as written, adjusting amounts to the size of the roast. It was delicious. The meat was tender, and easily shreddable, and the flavor was great. Very easy to prepare, just what you want for crock pot cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Only change I made was brining the chops. Cooked on low for 7 hours. They came out fork tender and delicious. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
It was good but a little dry. I think next time I will cook it on low for a little longer. I did add more spices and I will say it tasted much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I followed the recipe pretty much as given and we really liked this dish. The pork chops were extremely tender and very flavorful...the one thing I did do was season the chops with pepper and granulated garlic prior to browning and my tomatoes had basil included in them but since the recipe called for basil I just cut back on the amount listed...I would have given the recipe 5 stars but the sauce was very thin, flavorful but thin, it needs to be thickened a bit so it sticks to the pasta...I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darren K
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Cooked this as directed and it came out ok but not as good as I hoped. Pork just does not go well with all of the tomato. May try a sage pasta sauce next time or add a teaspoon of ground sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
After reading some reviews, I cooked this as directed except I halved the pasta sauce and amount of diced tomatoes. I regret doing that! It does make a lot of sauce but that sauce is needed to stew all 4 of the chops. Next time I will use the whole recipe and make spaghetti another night because the sauce is delicious! Some people complained that it was a little watery, which is true but that doesn't bother me. Others suggest throwing everything in the crock pot without browning the chops or sauteing the vegetables. This would still taste good, but browning helps keep the meat from falling apart. Sauteing adds a level of taste to the vegetables that stewing alone will not get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
tried it. It was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Cacciatore

See how to make perfectly tender pork cacciatore in the Crockpot.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States