Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs With Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Wow,the original recipe back in the 1960's was just the meat mixed with rice and cooked in canned tomato soup. Not much taste but easy and a cheap way to feed my growing family.What an improvement this recipe is . I hadn't made these in years but plan to use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Great recipe. We used fresh asparagus rather than onion and green pepper stirfry. We ate this recipe as meatball sandwiches and had the asparagus on the side. Since the asparagus was cooked in the crock pot with the meatballs it was great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My husband and his coworkers have had the winter doldrums lately, so because it was Groundhog Day, I decided to send a double batch of porcupines. This recipe caught my eye because it is specifically for slow cooker, which is what is great for work. I confess I only used the sauce from this recipe but am so glad I did! It was a HUGE hit, and the coworkers have informed me that they expect "groundhogs" with this sauce again next year on February 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I thought this was an excellent recipe! I followed the recipe for the most part, I added a little worshshire to the meatball, I didnt have basil so I added italian seasoning. I was hoping that the balls didnt fall apart during cooking and they stayed together great! I thought they had great flavor. I served it over rice. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
These were delicious!! I didnt pay attention to time and ended up doing them half the time and on high in the slow cooker...will definatley make again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShepR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
it was so tasty and everyone liked it. Will do again and I added some lawerys salt, garlic powder, and garlic pepper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrubby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This recipe is awesome!!!! Made it last night. I was a little heavier handed with the garlic, basil and cayenne pepper and I used fresh peppers and fresh vadalia onion. Just an awesome recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
really good winter meal! I cooked the whole thing on the stove and added woshtshire sauce, Italian seasoning, and extra canned tomatoes for more sauce. It was a def. hit. everyone loved it! oh - mushrooms might be good in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was an extremely good recipe! I substituted cream of chicken/cream of mushroom soup (undiluted) instead of spaghetti sauce. The rest of the recipe I followed was exactly as it reads. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
These were awesome. Used 24oz spaghetti sauce, petite diced tomatoes w/chilis, used italian seasoning in meatballsand added worchestor sauce to sauce. 3 cloves garlic in meatballs, skipped red wine and used fresh peppers and onions. May add more ingredients to make more sauce to use as gravy for mashed potatoes. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States