Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs With Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
These were very good- sauce kept the meatballs moist with a nice flavor. I did add an extra egg to the meat mixture for two reasons: I was using medium-sized eggs and my porcupines always fall apart. I'm happy to say that with careful turning they were perfect! The only thing I did different with the method, I put some of the sauce in the slow cooker, then added the porcupines, then the rest of the sauce. This was so I wouldn't have to turn or stir them so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandagorby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Wow,the original recipe back in the 1960's was just the meat mixed with rice and cooked in canned tomato soup. Not much taste but easy and a cheap way to feed my growing family.What an improvement this recipe is . I hadn't made these in years but plan to use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Terrific recipe! I was trying to duplicate a lost family recipe, and this came very close. It actually had more flavor than ours, and was more convenient in the slow cooker! I didn't add the frozen pepper/onions, is the only thing I changed. Will make this again for a nice homestyle family meal. I like to serve with french-cut green beans and rice. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My husband and his coworkers have had the winter doldrums lately, so because it was Groundhog Day, I decided to send a double batch of porcupines. This recipe caught my eye because it is specifically for slow cooker, which is what is great for work. I confess I only used the sauce from this recipe but am so glad I did! It was a HUGE hit, and the coworkers have informed me that they expect "groundhogs" with this sauce again next year on February 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This recipe brought back wonderful chilhood memories. Mom always made these but used mushroom soup as the sauce. She used the oven but I will make them in the crockpot. Thanks for the memories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
The meatballs themselves were somewhat bland and I would spice more next time. THe sauce and cooking method was spot on and overall a win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
good! meatballs fell apart a bit...sauce was really good. i used fresh peppers and onion, and would do it that way every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN
Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is a great gluten free meatball
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
For real efficiency, I make about 5 batches at once on a weekend day. Once they are browned, freeze them in a zipper-freezer bag. In the morning, dump the whole frozen blob into your slow cooker, poor over the sauce and go to work. I switch up the veggies and leave the bay leaf out, add garlic. Doesn't really matter. Do it like Mom did except by freezing ahead you've got dinner on those busy week nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Sorry, but we found these meatballs to be quite bland and boring. If we get the urge to have ground beef with rice again, I will stick to stuffed cabbage rolls. Much tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States