Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs With Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Terrific recipe! I was trying to duplicate a lost family recipe, and this came very close. It actually had more flavor than ours, and was more convenient in the slow cooker! I didn't add the frozen pepper/onions, is the only thing I changed. Will make this again for a nice homestyle family meal. I like to serve with french-cut green beans and rice. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
These were very good- sauce kept the meatballs moist with a nice flavor. I did add an extra egg to the meat mixture for two reasons: I was using medium-sized eggs and my porcupines always fall apart. I'm happy to say that with careful turning they were perfect! The only thing I did different with the method, I put some of the sauce in the slow cooker, then added the porcupines, then the rest of the sauce. This was so I wouldn't have to turn or stir them so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandagorby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Sorry, but we found these meatballs to be quite bland and boring. If we get the urge to have ground beef with rice again, I will stick to stuffed cabbage rolls. Much tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is a great gluten free meatball
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Wow,the original recipe back in the 1960's was just the meat mixed with rice and cooked in canned tomato soup. Not much taste but easy and a cheap way to feed my growing family.What an improvement this recipe is . I hadn't made these in years but plan to use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This recipe brought back wonderful chilhood memories. Mom always made these but used mushroom soup as the sauce. She used the oven but I will make them in the crockpot. Thanks for the memories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Strange how my experience was so different from others -- very bland meatballs that were strangely dry, considering all the time they spent in the sauce. Ended up mashing the lot together and making it into meat sauce, which was okay, but clearly not what we were expecting. Sorry, this just didn't work for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Great recipe. We used fresh asparagus rather than onion and green pepper stirfry. We ate this recipe as meatball sandwiches and had the asparagus on the side. Since the asparagus was cooked in the crock pot with the meatballs it was great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
The meatballs themselves were somewhat bland and I would spice more next time. THe sauce and cooking method was spot on and overall a win.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
these r very good. my family loved them and we didnt have any problems with hard rice they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States