Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs With Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Excellent porcupine meatball recipe. I liked the sauce much better than tomato soup. Of course, I used some fresh onions and peppers, some smoked paprika and more garlic. What I did notice in the video was that the pan used to brown the meatballs was not deglazed. All that beautiful fond going to waste! I took some of the beef broth and deglazed the pan and then added it to the sauce ingredients. Can't say it made a huge difference, but I wasn't going to let all that flavor go to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This recipe is so similar to what my mom used to make. She used to put the beef/rice mixture into hollowed-out fresh, green peppers; add a can or two of tomato soup and cook away. Then she would serve the meatball-stuffed green peppers over mashed potatoes. This recipe sounds even tastier; I plan on trying it soon. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Pretty good recipe. I used fresh veggies instead of frozen and added half a can of tomato paste, about 2 table spoons of sugar and twice the cayenne as they call for. Served on hoagie buns and people loved it! I'll for sure make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
The meatballs fell apart and they are very bland. It truly just tastes like watered down tomato sauce. I don't know why there is rice added to the meatballs either because it makes them mushy. Even adding spiced, I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Late '80s a lady friend gave me a recipe for "Porcupine Meatballs" our family enjoyed it so much that I would make it twice a week. The one plus with this recipe is no hot oven in summer & it's simply "mix it together & forget it", can also freeze in smaller portions, a +++ meal.Delicous! keenpetite aka Carmen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Recipe was easier than I thought it would be but not as flavorful as I thought it would be. I will try again but maybe add some more spices or try a different pasta sauce. On a good note, I made for a potluck and I didn't bring any home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Just...ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Brayton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
thanks, this was good. i will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I loved it. I made the meatballs 2" and browned them in my bella meatball maker. I used my own sauce and cut up fresh red and orange peppers in 1 1/2 inch wide strips. Adjusted the seasonings and it was fantastic. making it again tonight for my husband's work potluck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
My family loved this recipe and will definitely add to one of our favorites. I changed a few things; I used fresh basil and fresh cut onions and peppers, and I baked the meatballs instead of frying them. Also, I started preparing late in the day and cooked it on high for 4 hours in the slow cooker. Meatballs were still very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skcaravia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States