Slow Cooker Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I have made this several times and with a little tweaking it is a family favorite. Using the advice of previous reviewers, I used italian sausage and ground beef and added about 3/4 cup of water. I did not add the tomato soup, either. I found wagon wheel shaped pasta and used it since it resembles a sliced pizza. I also under cook the pasta, because it will soak up a lot of moisture and turn mushy. You may need to add a little extra water after this has been cooking for a few hours, too. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollys Taylor Made Treats

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Attica, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This is yummy. After reading other reviews I made a few changes as follows: I used a bottle of spaghetti sauce as opposed to two little bottles of pizza sauce. I then mixed all the ingredients together instead of layering. The mixture definitely needs spices, and I added quite a bit (a few teaspoons) of chopped garlic, as well as some basil and S&P. It got dry and I added a bit of water. Next time I will sautee some onions as i'm browning the ground beef and add it to the mix, as well as add a can or two of mushrooms (or fresh). I used turkey pepperoni and there is none of that pepperoni grease. I will probably use smaller noodles than rigatoni. This recipe is touted as a "slow cooker" recipe but really I don't think it is. Next time I'll mix it all up in one bowl and probably microwave it for about 15-20 minutes (covered). That way it won't get dry and all the cheese will be mega-melted. Even putting it in a casserole dish and putting it in the oven at around 350 for about an hour and a half would work. Bottom line, the mixture is delicious and hearty. Can't really go wrong if feeding teenagers and probably would be a big hit at a pot-luck, too. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I recommend frying the pepperoni first, then draining the grease from it. Just drain the pepperoni on paper towels. You are left with crispy pepperoni that doesn't add any grease to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
This recipe gets five stars all across! It's even fast as far as being a slow cooker recipe, as it only takes 4 hours on low. I followed the recipe exactly,(make sure you cook the ground beef before you place it in your cooker) and then I went out for four hours. When I got home, it looked delicious! And it was!! It was the best!! Much better than Baked Ziti or some of those other pasta dishes. My kids had thirds, and my sister came over and raved about it. I really enjoyed it, and this will be brought to many pot lucks and barbeques. THANKS, JILL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This was okay--I guess because of all the rave reviews, I thought it would be outstanding and was a little disappointed. Be sure you are using a LARGE slow cooker--I have a small one and couldn't quite fit all the ingredients in. I found the layering to be a little fiddly, like making a lasgna. The whole point of using a slow cooker is to throw in the ingredients and walk away for a few hours...no throwing here. Hubby liked the taste but the kids weren't overly thrilled. And it looked like a dog's breakfast. Won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANN7258

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Stonewall, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I made this for the office and everybody LOVED IT! I have made it several times since then for my own family but I made sure to add green peppers, olives, onions, sausage. All these things made it truly unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
My ultra-picky husband really liked this dish, and I liked the simplicity! I think next time I'll try it with bulk sausage instead of ground beef, and I'll skip the pepperoni (I tried it with turkey pepperoni - good, but I'm not a huge pepperoni fan). Also, do not let this dish go past 4 hours, or it will start to burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mulva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
This worked out pretty well. Mine didn't turn out greasy but it was a little dry, but that was easily cured with a little water. I did brown my hamburger with onions and I used my own pizza sauce. I also halved the recipe since some of the previous reviews said that it makes alot. They were right. I had plenty at half the recipe. I think that next time I'll add green peppers and other pizza toppings, this is a recipe that is easily personalizes. I think I'd like smaller pasta than rigatoni too. Frankly, I think just about any pasta that you have on hand would work beautifully. I think this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
We liked it! This recipe was simlple and super-tasty. It's basically a pizza casserole and it tastes and smells just like pizza. I prepared the rigatoni separately and served the casserole over it for my fiance who is NOT on a low-carb diet. No rigatoni for me and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I made this yesterday with a few changes. I used penne pasta that I cooked for half the time called for on the box. The only meat I used was sweet Italian sausage and about 2 ounces of pepperoni. A jar and a half of spaghetti sauce with 2 cups of water. I layered the sauce, 1/2 noodles, sausage, pepperoni (single layer only), sauce and cheese. Then I reapeated the layers ending with the cheese. My children loved this and asked for seconds. An easy, hearty meal for a cold winters eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Harris Fulk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States