Slow Cooker Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I thought that this dish turned out very well! I used all of the ingredients except omitted the celery and onion (forgot to purchase) and substituted bacon for the ham. Because I used bacon, I also did not add any lard. I like to leave my bell pepper in halves instead of chopping. After the beans have been cooking for hours, the bell peppers broke up into nice, bite-sized pieces so it saved me a bit of time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Instead of ham used 2 smoked turkey legs. Great taste and healthy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I used the seasonings in this recipe and thought the flavor was delicious. I did use a ham shank instead of diced ham, and kale instead of bell pepper and added carrots too, since thats what I had on hand. I the veg up in the FP and added the last 2 hrs of 7 hrs in the slow cooker. My son came home to these and hamemade bread and butter..a comfort meal made in heaven...yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe for crock-pot beans and it is very easy to make. I did change a few things to better suit my households tastes. I leave out the bay leaves and use jalapenos for some extra spice. I also omit the Black Forest ham and lard. Insted I use 1 pack of salt pork along with 3 smoked ham hocks. Once the 6 hours of cook time is up I take the ham hocks out, clean the meat off the bone, shred it, and put the meat back into the pot. My family loves having the beans in the fridge for a quick snack or meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Pretty much how we make our beans, only we use bacon instead of ham, and jalapenos instead of bell pepper. Also, no celery...and we use equal amounts of cumin and oregano. About a tsp each per pound of beans being cooked. This was a nice change though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
tI tried this recipe, except I used my pressure cooker, after soaking beans. The only other changes I made was to replace green pepper with a roasted pepper, and no meat. It was absolutely delicious! Definitely my favorite pinto bean recipe, in face I'm making some more tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I used my own chicken broth, made with a bone in, skin on chicken, so, I didn't add the lard. Subb'd the green bell pepper for poblano. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Loved this base recipe & made some changes based on ingredients I had on hand. I substituted a can of rotele chilies for bell pepper, tossed in some cayenne & a few splashes of Tabasco. Mmmmmm, we like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatzNK9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
this was good i soaked my beans over night and didnt use green pepper i didnt have any but it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Really, really good and so easy! Everyone liked it which never happens in this family of five. I did salt it some. I didn't have black forest ham. I had ham hocks in the freezer so I put those in. Also used onion powder instead of onions. I wonder about trying it without the bell peppers as they were an unappealing mushy texture they way that they always do when cooked at length. But not too big a deal there especially if you are just eating it all together with the beans. I just know my picky eaters inspect each little bite and so I knew to pick them out for their portions. I didn't have quite 5 cups of broth.. more like 3 so I made up the rest with water and it definitely worked out well. We ate it as a bean soup and also put the beans in tortillas rolled up like a burrito with salt and pepper. Yummm....Definitely a keeper. There were no leftovers, next time I will double the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States