Slow Cooker Pinto Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I'm so surprised by people who said it was too spicy. I had a ham shank and about 1/3 c. diced jalapenos on hand. I thought it was perfect and I am adding it to my recipe box so I can find it easily next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Not a bad recipe but not everyone enjoyed them. A little spicier than I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I've made this several times, today for the 1st time I did it on the stove top. I had not soaked my beans overnight but, fear not there is a solution, I just brought them to a boil in about 5 inches of water and then turned off the heat and let them soak for an hour. After that time I poured out the water and started the recipe. Instead of ham I used two ham hocks and no lard. I used a 48oz. box of chicken broth and after some of that juice had boiled down I added an additional 32oz. box of vegetable broth. I also noticed that I inadvertently used only 1tsp. of the oregano and thought the beans tasted great. This will undoubtedly be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micahsgrandma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Idk.... I didn't use the bell pepper or celery because my family does not like them and I left out the oregano based off other reviews. I used a pack and a half of Bacon BC someone else said they used that and I didn't have any Ham (Bacon's got more flavor anyway)... it was not spicy at all to us and trust and believe.... U NEED TO ADD SALT. Without salt is VERY bland. BC I used Bacon I didn't add lard. I used 2 seasoning cubes and sprinkled salt over the top about half way through and mixed it in. I also added curry BC my husband loves it. To us it was just ok. Good for a base but definitely needs more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made this recipe without the bell peppers and the celery and it was good. I think one tablespoon of oregano is just too much. The recipe does say, to taste. So now I know to put in less next time. I did not soak the beans the night before but I did have to cook them a couple hours longer. I had to add more water too. They were delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This recipe is awesome! I do alter it a little bit. I do not add the celery or green bell pepper and I replace the black forest ham with a 1 lbs. slab of bacon, cut up into 1 inch pieces. I also keep bacon grease left over from Sunday breakfasts and use that for the lard. Also, I add about 2 tsp. of salt, just because the first time I made it, it was very bland. You could easily adjust the salt though. Overall, this is some good eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Yum yum and yum! I left out the cumin and diced ham and used a smoked ham shank with a good amount of meat still on it instead because I had it in the freezer. We loved these so much more than the recipe I grew up eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Loved/loved, I used left overs (were dryer)which was perfect for a delicious 'RE-FRIED" beans for taco"s, enchiladas, and in a 2" high casserole dish piled high with cheese and melted under broiler. Spicy "WONDERFUL" ALSO used a smoked ham hock one time and the next polish Kielbasa and also again used a hock with hamburger... EVERYONE was great ! toni
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was really good, and very healthy (I did not put the lard in (did not think it was necessary!) I swapped out ham for a smoked turkey leg instead. I halved the amount of spices and added in 1/2 tsp of creole seasoning. I meant to add a chopped jalapeno pepper, but it got lost somewhere between the store and my kitchen! The onion, bell pepper and celery make this soup great! I used turkey broth frozen since Thanksgiving and it turned out fantastic! And like most meals, better on the second night of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Really tasty!! I turned it into a vegetarian dish by using vegetable broth and meatless meat and was a success. I had to add a couple cups of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker Ham

This recipe for Easter or Christmas ham takes “no fuss” to the extreme.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States