Slow Cooker Pinto Bean Bonanza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
sorry, just not very inspiring. I'd rather just cook pintos in water and serve with smoked sausage which has been grilled. The apple cider vinegar gave this dish a "funny" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
A new favorite! Had extra pinto beans, so I used about 2.5 cups and added a cup of water. No garlic powder on hand, so I added a tablespoon of garlic salt and the deleted regular salt and the garlic powder. Came out perfect. Served over steamed rice. My crock pot gets this done on low in about 6 hours. Need to be careful not to overcook and have the beans start to come apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Really good pinto beans. serve them over brown rice with shredded cheese as the author suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Outstanding!! WE loved this. I used a ham bone instead of sausage, otherwise followed exactly. There are 3 of us and we all loved it, never got tired of it. Paired with cornbread. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Turned out perfect. Even my picky children loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Yummy! I couldn't really taste any bacon, so that could probably be left out next time. I also used cloves of garlic and a whole onion because that's what I had on hand. This made the house smell great! Served it with tortilla chips and sour cream, easy inexpensive dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I followed the recommendations of other users and my own tastes to sub 1 cup diced onion for the dried onion and onion powder, and I used a light kielbasa...as I was short on time I cooked for 2 hours on high and finished for 5 hours on low.... topped with shredded pepper jack and scallions as noted and served over rice.... really a terrific recipe that both my husband and I just loved. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Serve wrapped in a flour tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Very good over rice! Taste sort of like pork and beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
These beans are awesome. I used smoked sausage instead of kielbasa, and fresh jalapenos instead of pickled, and fresh onions instead of dried. Love this recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrogandCricket

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States