Slow Cooker Pinto Bean Bonanza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
A lot of works but makes a lot of food. I liked, but my husband did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Outstanding! I made these pretty much to the recipe, but made the following tweaks. I used a little more bacon, discarded the drippings, and used smoked sausage (browned) instead of the kielbasa. I didn't have dried onion, so used fresh. Finally, I also didn't have green peppers or green onions on hand and I definitely think these beans could have benefited from both. I warmed up some tortillas in a hot pan and spooned the beans in, added a little shredded cheddar, and rolled them up. My only suggestion is to not add any salt until near the end of cooking so they soften up without a 9-10 hour cooking time. I will be making these regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
My husband and I really enjoyed these beans. The only thing I did differently was to substitute andouille sausage and hamhocks for the kielbasa sausage and the bacon because that is what I had. I also used real onion instead of the dried onion. My husband doctored his up with more jalapenos and some Slap Yo' Mama hot sauce because he really likes more heat than most people. It was a great recipe and we'll definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I don't get it. I read so many great reviews on this, but there was just not much to it. I had to add quite a bit more salt and added garlic because there was just not much flavor to it. My kids really seemed to like it, but my husband and I were not impressed. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
DELICIOUS!!! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Yummy! Great beans, would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
followed the recipe but had canned pintos so i cooked on the stove with 3 cups of water. i did rinse the beans. i cooked the onions and the sausage in the bacon fat and then added everything else, 3 cups of water, seasonings. BTB then simmered covered for about 1.5 hrs. Served with white rice, cheddar, and scallions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I had to adjust this recipe a little as there were some items I couldn't purchase in British supermarkets, but despite these changes it was a success! I'll definitely be making this one again. I used 2 cans of pinto beans instead of 2 cups of dried, and since ranch-style beans don't exist in this country I added an extra can of pinto beans. I used passata instead of tomato paste, but I think they're pretty much the same. For the sausage, I used chorizo, which is pretty similar to kielbasa. I used fresh onion and garlic rather than dried/powdered. I also added some extra spices: 2 tsp red chilli flakes, 1 tsp ground cumin and 1/2 tsp oregano, to make up for the lack of ranch-style beans, as these seem to be commonly used seasonings for these beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Andrews, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Nothing special. Taste is just OK. Far soupier than I expected. If I were to make this again - unlikely - I would cut the water by a third.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Delicious. I made it with venison sausage instead of kielbasa. I substituted one cup of chicken stock for 1 cup of water and added a can of diced tomatoes. I also added two teaspoons of worcestershire sauce in for some added flavor. Served over rice. Totally awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States