Slow Cooker Pierogie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Ok, there are many picky eaters in this world and I have one that doesn't like much at all. Well I have to say this is a keeper. My son loved it, had two bowls of this and so did my daughter. My boyfriend loved it as well and said I need to make this again soon. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for the great recipe and I think the crockpot is needed. It blends everything nicely and mixes the flavors evenly. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
As other reviewers have stated, this does not need to go in the slow cooker. Everyone loved this, real comfort food. Will add more cabbage next time and I did add a little chicken broth while cooking the cabbage. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I make this all the time in my electric skillet. First I cook up some kielbasa, then add chopped cabbage. When pierogi's are ready, I mix it all together so that the kielbasa flavor is all thru the dish. If I don't have pierogi's I used shredded potatoes. It's fast and eay and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandiBee
Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I've been making pierogies for a long time now and I make them with all the same ingredients, but I use one large electric frying pan and everything comes out great. Only one pan to wash!!!! Cook the bacon first then the cabbage and onion, much more flavor this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pepperell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I have to agree with the others, no slow cooker needed it's actually a waste when you have cooked it already. Might I suggest to fry up the bacon be the only thing you cook and actually slow cook the rest of it in a chicken broth in the slow cooker, it' s long process but works. Otherwise I cook it like the others without the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrycookking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pincher Creek, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Preeceville, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
These are AWESOME!!! A delicious recipe! I agree with the others, no slow cooker is needed, really, but it did allow us to get some stuff done before dinner. I am entertaining the idea of figuring out a way to allow this to cook all day in the slow cooker! All in all, this is delicious and can also be played with a bit to suit ones lifestyle. I understand why Joni says it is hard to not snack on it while it is cooking! Delicious! Thanks Joni!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
After all the pots and pans used in the preparation I would hesitate to use the slow cooker. This entire dish could be made in a large covered skillet saving cleanup time in the kitchen. This recipe would take no more then an hour this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
To Catrv - you certainly don't need a slow cooker to enjoy this. This is ready to serve after all the ingredients are cooked and combined. The slow cooker is a great way to hold the meal for a potluck for to have ready after a busy afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
works fine with just cabage, bacon and piroggies. no salt needed. easy. quick. yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was surprisingly good! The ingredients sounded interesting so I had to try it but I cut the recipe in half. My husband said maybe I should try more cabbage & bacon next time - so basically I think 2 packages of pierogies & half the butter would work well with leaving the other quantities as written. We'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States