Slow Cooker Pierogie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I make this all the time in my electric skillet. First I cook up some kielbasa, then add chopped cabbage. When pierogi's are ready, I mix it all together so that the kielbasa flavor is all thru the dish. If I don't have pierogi's I used shredded potatoes. It's fast and eay and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandiBee
Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I've been making pierogies for a long time now and I make them with all the same ingredients, but I use one large electric frying pan and everything comes out great. Only one pan to wash!!!! Cook the bacon first then the cabbage and onion, much more flavor this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pepperell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I have to agree with the others, no slow cooker needed it's actually a waste when you have cooked it already. Might I suggest to fry up the bacon be the only thing you cook and actually slow cook the rest of it in a chicken broth in the slow cooker, it' s long process but works. Otherwise I cook it like the others without the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrycookking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pincher Creek, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Preeceville, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
These are AWESOME!!! A delicious recipe! I agree with the others, no slow cooker is needed, really, but it did allow us to get some stuff done before dinner. I am entertaining the idea of figuring out a way to allow this to cook all day in the slow cooker! All in all, this is delicious and can also be played with a bit to suit ones lifestyle. I understand why Joni says it is hard to not snack on it while it is cooking! Delicious! Thanks Joni!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
@ catrv820 Without a slow cooker, I would cook the bacon first until crisp, drain and set aside. add the butter to about a tablespoon of the bacon drippings and saute the cabbage and onions in that. Cook your Pierogies in boiling water or microwave, according to the package directions and drain. Then just add the rogi's to the pan with the onions and cabbge, crumble the bacon over top, put a lid over the pan and simmer until warmed through. I do this on the stove top often. Add a little chicken broth to help steam/cook the cabbage and onions. I like to get that nice brown carmelized flavor on the cabbage/onion mix and then throw in a bit of chicken stocck/broth to soften and flavor it. If it looks too dry add more chicken broth. If you like,you can also fry up some hot banana pepper strips and add it to the mix, if you want some heat, and/or top with shredded cheddar cheese and warm until melted. A dash of garlic powder might be nice, too. Season with lots of fresh ground pepper This is a recipe that you can really play with and adjust to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
After all the pots and pans used in the preparation I would hesitate to use the slow cooker. This entire dish could be made in a large covered skillet saving cleanup time in the kitchen. This recipe would take no more then an hour this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
To Catrv - you certainly don't need a slow cooker to enjoy this. This is ready to serve after all the ingredients are cooked and combined. The slow cooker is a great way to hold the meal for a potluck for to have ready after a busy afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
works fine with just cabage, bacon and piroggies. no salt needed. easy. quick. yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was surprisingly good! The ingredients sounded interesting so I had to try it but I cut the recipe in half. My husband said maybe I should try more cabbage & bacon next time - so basically I think 2 packages of pierogies & half the butter would work well with leaving the other quantities as written. We'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
These were fantastic!! Thank you Joni!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States