Slow Cooker Philly Steak Sandwich Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Loved it did not use alcohol still turned out awesome . I used beef broth instead and added peppers last 40 minutes of cooking .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathansmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I joined Allrecipes.com just to rate this awesome recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
the flavors did nothing for me or my family. made it for super bowl sunday and was disappointed at the blend of flavors. certainly didn't taste like any philly cheese steak i have eaten before. i could absolutely taste the whiskey and the beer in the meat. maybe will try this with just beef broth and less of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Very good. Meat had a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 12, October 2013 ~ I am way late in making this one, but so glad I finally did. This is a fantastic way to fix a roast for sandwiches. I used a Miller Lite® as that is what my husband had in the fridge. The flavors meld very nicely with this recipe. After the sandwiches were put together, I added the sautéed peppers and onions from the crockpot and a slice of provolone cheese and popped under the broiler. We used the au jus from the meat for dipping. My son and his new wife joined us for dinner and this sandwich was a 4-way winner in our house! Thanks duboo for sharing your recipe with all of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great Philly Steak I also used the broth for dipping One of the best that I've ever had... Everyone in my family loved it even the children!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I loved the way the meat turns out tender & moist from these ingredients. I don't usually like pot-roast-type meat, as it always feels "dry", even with juice & gravy. This meat is so tender & juicy - I guess from the chemistry of the beer/whiskey/spices? (I felt like a mad scientist mixing the many seasonings!) It is SO good! I think I ate 1/3 of it during the day - I had to make sure I didn't overcook it, right? The juice is so good I want to drink it...I used 2# boneless beef short ribs sliced 1/2" thick, doubled the seasonings & cooked 8 hours on low. Fabulous! I will use this recipe over & over and have been thinking of adapting it for a pork loin I've got on hand...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I finally made this today, and the results were way above my expectations. I have made other slow cooker beef sandwiches that came out tasting like nothing more than a shredded, Sunday beef roast piled on a bun. Always disappointing. This recipe, however, had exactly what I was looking for in a slow-cooked beef filling for a beef sub sandwich. Delicious flavor and melt-in-your-mouth texture. I sliced the sirloin 1/4 inch thick so it would keep shape (didn't want it shredded) and seasoned it with a little of the spice mixture and seared it first. I added the rest of the spice mixture to the slow cooker along with the seared beef strips and the remaining ingredients. I used Crown Royal, thank goodness, to compensate for the cheap, domesticated light beer that I had to use, and Muenster cheese under the broiler like another reviewer because I like how it melts nice and creamy, and the sauteed peppers and onions. All spices and measurements I followed exactly. I'm going to make this again this weekend to impress my guests who are coming in from out of town :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Excellent recipe! So much flavor. My husband liked using the leftover juices to dip his sandwich into since there was so much flavor in the juice as well. :) We used 805 beer, and I didn't realize it until I made the recipe that I was out of beef bouillon so I used a little beef stock instead. Loved how easy and good the recipe was! We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States