Slow Cooker Philly Steak Sandwich Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I used 1 lb beef sirloin round top steak. I did as follows only used a whole onion, no mustard and no beer. In place of beer I substituted with 12oz water. After being disappointed with how little one pound was, after the meat cooked I added another pound of meat to cook. Overall with minor adjustments it was so yummy I'd eat it just like that. I'd definitely recommend for future reference to use 2lb or 3lb meat without doubling the rest of the ingredients, it has plenty of flavor and that way it's enough to make 6 meaty Phillies which is ofcourse necessary when having a philly sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teirra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
My husband is from New Jersey and particular and after living there for so many years I became particular too. This recipe was fantastic and as close to anything we have found since moving to NC. The only thing I did not add was the whiskey since I was out and I took the beef out and threw it on a hot skillet at the last minute to brown it up adding the cheese then. It was so tender and tasted just like the sandwiches we got up north. It will be a staple on our house. So easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
My man has made this a demand of at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deidre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
The meat was tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javalady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I cooked this on low for 8 hours and started to panic because the meat was tough and dry and it had a really strong alcohol taste blended with a funky Mexican flavor but I cooked it another 3 hours and magic happened the meat was tender and juicy and all the flavors blended perfectly, my boyfriend said this is the best french dip I have ever had! Thank you for the great recipe Duboo! Will make this over again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I made this the other day..holy cow!! HUGE HIT with my family!! I didn't add booze cause I cant cook with booze..EVER! not sure why..anyways, upped the beef broth..very tastey! thank you DUBOO!! this will be a freezer staple fer me too..:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This recipe rocked! I lost count of how many sandwiches my husband ate!!! Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deidre Shaw
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was a very fun recipe. The hodgepodge of ingredients are excellent! Thank you! I love to cook with beer :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deidre Shaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this for a New Years eve party using a 5 lb sirloin roast! It was a hug hit. I would love to post a pic but nothing was left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Whitney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I think I messed this recipe up by using a sirloin steak instead of a roast. The meat was tough and I could taste the Worcestershire sauce, which I can NOT taste in a philly sandwich. I will try it one more time before I give up on it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States