Slow Cooker Pheasant with Mushrooms and Olives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was wonderful. I had a single pheasant but used the full recipe for the sauce, using baby portabellas and a Riesling (no olives). I cooked it on high for 4 hours and feel I lost too much sauce in that high heat so I will make more next time. I felt the breast got a bit overdone but the dark meat was perfect. I will make this again. I make stock from the bones and will have that wonderful pheasant stock for the next bird or whim. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Even my picky 12 year old daughter loved it. I added red pepper flakes...will add more next time. Served it with rice. Yummy! I used pheasant breast and the meat was tender, better than chicken any day. Btw...it was my first time ever to cook pheasant. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This recipe kept the pheasant moist and was quite tender. I followed the recipe as given. It needed perhaps a little more salt, pepper plus some smoked paprika and red pepper flakes as suggested by others. Will make this a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Piedmont, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Brilliant! This was one of those dishes that had my dining partner enthusing over every mouthful - and demanding a repeat performance. I had to make do with vile tinned olives (rinsed to get rid of the vinegar) and red wine, but it still came out beautifully - and I'll try making it properly & take a pic next time, because there will most definitely be a next time, and a time after that, and a time after that... Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I tried this recipe with the pheasant and it was great, then I tried it with chicken then again with pork. Wow it was wonderful with both I think I like it best with the pork loin. I have served it at a dinner party and got rave reviews, it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
as the others have said "Wonderful - succulent, and delicious" I used a 2011 South African Pinot Grigio, only one bird, and chestnut mushrooms. Cooked on High, I ended up using at least as much liquid as the recipe called for for 2 birds. The result was sweet from the wine, moist and yummy, not too salty. Definitely a 'make again' dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Just terrific! I didn't have white wine so used a tablespoon of white vinegar in a cup of water instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newtown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe was supurb - never did I think pheasant could turn out so darn good! My husband grew up in a family that always cooked game and he said that this recipe was the best pheasant he has ever had (and his mom is the most amazing cook I have met!) Will use this recipe again and again every year around pheasant season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mischief Managed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Missouri, USA
Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this recipe for my family and they thoroughly enjoyed it. Even the kids tried the mushrooms and liked them. The pheasant was tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States