Slow Cooker Pheasant with Mushrooms and Olives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This recipe kept the pheasant moist and was quite tender. I followed the recipe as given. It needed perhaps a little more salt, pepper plus some smoked paprika and red pepper flakes as suggested by others. Will make this a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Piedmont, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Brilliant! This was one of those dishes that had my dining partner enthusing over every mouthful - and demanding a repeat performance. I had to make do with vile tinned olives (rinsed to get rid of the vinegar) and red wine, but it still came out beautifully - and I'll try making it properly & take a pic next time, because there will most definitely be a next time, and a time after that, and a time after that... Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I tried this recipe with the pheasant and it was great, then I tried it with chicken then again with pork. Wow it was wonderful with both I think I like it best with the pork loin. I have served it at a dinner party and got rave reviews, it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
as the others have said "Wonderful - succulent, and delicious" I used a 2011 South African Pinot Grigio, only one bird, and chestnut mushrooms. Cooked on High, I ended up using at least as much liquid as the recipe called for for 2 birds. The result was sweet from the wine, moist and yummy, not too salty. Definitely a 'make again' dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Just terrific! I didn't have white wine so used a tablespoon of white vinegar in a cup of water instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newtown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe was supurb - never did I think pheasant could turn out so darn good! My husband grew up in a family that always cooked game and he said that this recipe was the best pheasant he has ever had (and his mom is the most amazing cook I have met!) Will use this recipe again and again every year around pheasant season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mischief Managed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Missouri, USA
Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I made this recipe for my family and they thoroughly enjoyed it. Even the kids tried the mushrooms and liked them. The pheasant was tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This was the best pheasant recipe I have ever had! Had great flavor and meat was so moist. Will always use this over mushroom soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Two bunches of visiting pheasant hunters raved about this recipe. The first time (she said almost embarrassed-ly) was with pheasants at least 3 years old (vacuum-packed). They were on way past recommended cooking time because DH shot a huge deer and we had to go get it (living in Montana is a strain...not!). The second was with brand new birds. Both times all parts of the pheasant were falling-off-the-bone tender and tasty, no waste at all. Since the cook (me) doesn't like olives, they were left out. The recipe went home with hunters to California, Washington, and New Jersey. Thank you so very, very much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dundee, Angus, Scotland, U.K.
Living In: Vaughn, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States