Slow Cooker Pheasant with Mushrooms and Olives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This is more like it. I just didn't add the Olives. It's a fair to middle recipe. It is tender etc. I really love Pheasant, I can eat a whole one. I never like hung meat, not that it suggests this. I don't like it green. We always prepare it the same day it's shot. Oh dear, some hate that idea but it's not all in a plastic wrapper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Great recipe and very easy to prepare. It didn't look very appetizing in the crockpot so I added a drained can of Rotel tomatoes and 1/2c of frozen green peas halfway through the cooking time. Served the dish with yellow rice and brussel sprouts. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was wonderful. I had a single pheasant but used the full recipe for the sauce, using baby portabellas and a Riesling (no olives). I cooked it on high for 4 hours and feel I lost too much sauce in that high heat so I will make more next time. I felt the breast got a bit overdone but the dark meat was perfect. I will make this again. I make stock from the bones and will have that wonderful pheasant stock for the next bird or whim. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Even my picky 12 year old daughter loved it. I added red pepper flakes...will add more next time. Served it with rice. Yummy! I used pheasant breast and the meat was tender, better than chicken any day. Btw...it was my first time ever to cook pheasant. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This recipe kept the pheasant moist and was quite tender. I followed the recipe as given. It needed perhaps a little more salt, pepper plus some smoked paprika and red pepper flakes as suggested by others. Will make this a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Piedmont, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Brilliant! This was one of those dishes that had my dining partner enthusing over every mouthful - and demanding a repeat performance. I had to make do with vile tinned olives (rinsed to get rid of the vinegar) and red wine, but it still came out beautifully - and I'll try making it properly & take a pic next time, because there will most definitely be a next time, and a time after that, and a time after that... Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I tried this recipe with the pheasant and it was great, then I tried it with chicken then again with pork. Wow it was wonderful with both I think I like it best with the pork loin. I have served it at a dinner party and got rave reviews, it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
as the others have said "Wonderful - succulent, and delicious" I used a 2011 South African Pinot Grigio, only one bird, and chestnut mushrooms. Cooked on High, I ended up using at least as much liquid as the recipe called for for 2 birds. The result was sweet from the wine, moist and yummy, not too salty. Definitely a 'make again' dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Just terrific! I didn't have white wine so used a tablespoon of white vinegar in a cup of water instead. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newtown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States