Slow Cooker Pernil Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I did as suggested and added a ton of garlic, adobo, and sazon and it turned out fantastic. This is going to be our New Year's tradition now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hughesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Loved the recipe! My husband asked for me to save this one "it's a keeper"! I substituted dried oregano for fresh and used only 1/2 as much; used regular chili powder instead of ancho chile pepper; redwine vinegar instead of white wine vinegar and added a splash of margarita mix. I cooked a 5 lb. pork loin roast so doubled all ingredients. It made it's own wonderful broth. I also ran out of time so cooked on HIGH for 4-5 hours. It was very tender and I served in slices rather than chunks. This was very easy to prepare and my company and family loved it. I placed leftovers in individual containers and froze them for my husband to take in his lunch...he LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This is great! I had a boneless pork cutlets, rather than a roast, and they turned out very well. I was too lazy to shop for fresh oregano, so I used dried, and it was fine. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This pork was awesome! I had my parents over for dinner and they were in love with it as well. The only adjustments that I made was to add some margarita mix to the slow cooker, and i just used regular chili powder since I didn't have any of te chili powder the recipe called for. It was devine! Oh, and I also cut slits in the pork and stuff it with some of the sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quilting Crazy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I did not have fresh oregano and got confused so I used 4 tblsp of the dried (instead of halfing the amount of fresh for dried) and cooked according to directions. It was still really good. What I did was saute onions and garlic in olive oil, add a little mojo and shredded the pork into it and fried it until browned. Served it with Maduros (fried ripe plantains) and rice with lime squeezed on it. I thought I was at a restaruant. Delicious! If you want an authentic tasting spanish meal try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I've made this 4 times already. I follow the recipe as written and the result is a very flavorful and tender pork that my friends love and request when we have a get together coming up. I'm not a fan of the slow cooker but it works well enough. Having said that... I think this recipe is second best to a traditional puertorican pernil where the main ingredients are tons of garlic, adobo, oregano, white vinegar and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was wonderful. I was tired of the same old pork and apple combination. After reading the other reviews, I made a few adjustments. I combined all the seasonings together adding Adobo and a cup of water as suggested by another reviewer. I did not have white wine vinegar so I used red wine and garlic vinegar instead. I also followed the recommendation to puree the seasonings and to stuff it into slits cut into the roast. I then cooked it in the slow cooker. Some of our family liked the roast with lime juice and some without. I liked it both ways. The gravy was good on-top of rice. This was easy and everyone loved it. This one goes in the recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dominica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
awesome, easy, versatile. We ate the leftovers in soft corn tortillas the next day...so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This recipe was AMAZING! I did not have the ancho pepper, but the pork was delicious without. This is in my favorites for sure. Added bonus, makes you house smell YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is really easy and delicious--makes great pulled pork for sandwiches too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States