Slow Cooker Pernil Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Excellent! I used a mini food processor to combine the paste ingredients, and since there was no quantity for the olive oil I went with a tablespoon. I think that was too much, so next time I'll just use a teaspoon or so. Had extra puree leftover so I just dumped it in the crockpot. Delicious! Moist and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Very good result for a loin roast (which I find to be a hard cut of meat t keep from drying out). The paste reminded me of a pesto consistency, sans basil of course. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DFLICKD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
One word: yum. I will definitely be making this again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Absolute best recipe! So flavorful and tender. The aroma while cooking tells all. Will now be made often. I use a 6 lb. bone in pork shoulder and changed serving size to 12, which says to use 2- 3lb shoulders. This still worked great. I put in slow cooker at 8:00 at night and it was perfect by 11:00 the next morning, so about 15 hrs. I just pulled bone out and put meat on platter where I pulled it with 2 forks then slipped it back into juices. YUMMY. Used it as is for sandwich on sturdy buns; over rice or noodles or then you can change it out by adding BBQ sauce to it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Everybody loves this. Don't try to hurry it up - that's the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosesonata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I love, love, love how easy and good this dish is. I leave out the anche pepper and stick with a more savory pork. It's a big hit whenever I serve it to friends and family. Add some black beans and rice and it feels like home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was delicious! I did add about a shot glass worth of margarita mix, a packet of sazon seasongin, and a little adobo seasoning. I used a pork shoulder instead and it was fabulous! Very moist and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccole1973

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Made this past Sunday June 3 DELICIOUS My husband loved loved it. Cooked in crock pot 7 hrs on low. Meat was so tender and juicy-fell apart as I was taking it out of crock. I loved the liquid mixture so much, made another batch to use for leftovers and for chicken during the week as we used much of the original. I also used some of the mixture for potatoes, which I quartered. Just added a bit of flour to the liquid to thicken it up then put it over potatoes also DELICIOUS. Thank you for a great recipe. It's def a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debzstuff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This is very good! Used a 3.7 lb loin roast, bone-in. Don't have a blender, so I just whisked together all the ingredients. The oilve oil part was confusing, so I just used a tsp or thereabouts. Used 2 tsp white vinegar and 1 tsp red wine vinegar. Didn't have ancho powder, so added a little chili powder and cayenne (my man is half Mexican). Used 2 tablespoons of lime juice, since that's what all the sites say to substitute, and 1/3 the amount listed of DRIED oregano. Dumped all ingredients on top of the fat layer and put it into the crock pot bone side down. Cooked in the crock pot on low for about 8-9 hrs. Absolute perfection! I was concerned with so little salt, but it does not need it. Just falls off the bone. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I've made this several times already, following the recipe almost exactly (substituted regular chili powder for ground ancho chile pepper) and everyone loves it! I slice the pork into chops and shred after cooking. I usually serve this with mashed or roasted potatoes and a green vegetable. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States