Slow Cooker Pernil Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This recipe is FABULOUS!!! I used pork shoulder instead of loin, and it came out so soft and flavorful! I think next time I won't add any oil to the spice mixture, since the pork was already marbled with a lot of fat, and I will also cut the meat into three pieces so that the spices can penetrate and coat it better. This recipe is definitely now a part of my permanent collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Loved it. I would use less salt next time. I used my pressure cooker to make this in 35 to 40 minutes, adding some water to the bottom of the pan. Also tried the Puerto Rican Steamed Rice with it for fun. The marinade combined with the water in the pan to make a perfect sauce for the meat and rice. I sliced it tonight, and I will shred the rest to enjoy tomorrow in a bun or whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
It was ok nothing special I thought. I had higher hopes but meh it was fine. Nothing wrong but I probably wouldnt make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would. I couldn't find ancho chili pepper powder so I used regular chili powder. I also used 1 TBSP dried oregano instead of 2 TBSP fresh. Served this pork with Arroz con Grandules which I made from following the recipe on the back of a can of Goya Pigeon peas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIESM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
YUM! I took the advise of many and used a shoulder roast, added adobo and sazon to the garlic/onion mix, and cooked it in some OJ and lime juice. Shredded it after 7 hours and then cooked it for another hour. I think I overdid it a little on the extra spices, or I should have not added the salt in addition, but it still came out VERY VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
It was as good as pork at the Columbia Restaurant in Florida! I tweeked it a bit. Doubled the garlic, cumin and ground ancho chili pepper. The recipe does not state how much olive oil so I used equal amts vinegar/oil. I also added 2 chipotle chili's in adobo (from the can) into the mix for the blender. It was FANTASTIC. Made it for the first time new years eve for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Pork loin is so lean, it dries out in the slow cooker. I added a piece of pork shoulder that I had, and while the flavour isn't much better, the texture certainly is. Even after marinating overnight, the flavour of this was still very bland. I shredded the meat, added back some of the liquid in the crock and a lot more seasoning. That seemed to help. To serve this, I heated some bacon fat in a nonstick pan and pressed the shredded meat into it, letting it form a crust before flipping it over (in bits). The crusty, brown flavour helped the overall taste of the dish immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This was so quick and easy to assemble and resulted in a flavorful, tender and succulent roast. The whole family loved it and I shared it with about a dozen friends that I thought would enjoy it. I followed the recipe as written but did have to substitute dried oregano for the fresh. Making it again today! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organizerkathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Excellent! I used a mini food processor to combine the paste ingredients, and since there was no quantity for the olive oil I went with a tablespoon. I think that was too much, so next time I'll just use a teaspoon or so. Had extra puree leftover so I just dumped it in the crockpot. Delicious! Moist and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Very good result for a loin roast (which I find to be a hard cut of meat t keep from drying out). The paste reminded me of a pesto consistency, sans basil of course. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DFLICKD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States