Slow Cooker Pernil Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Awesome recipe! I was looking for a slow cooker recipe for pork that was something other than barbecue and this was great! Wonderful flavor and super easy! The pork was extremely tender. Served this in lettuce wraps with thinly sliced tomato and it was sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Captainbiscuitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
Definitely worth the try. I made the mistake of searing the meat with salt and pepper before following the directions. The result left it rather salty. Other than that, it was very tender and full of subtle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Oh my goodness! Made the recipe exactly as is, sticking my pork roast in the crock pot in the morning. Because it was a long day, I needed to cook on low for 10 hours, so I stuck the roast in while still frozen. I covered it with the sauce and headed to work. Came home to amazing finished roast. My family loved it. the juice had amazing flavor, just the right intensity of flavors. We had NO leftovers. (which I was hoping to shred and use for pork tacos later in the week)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Briese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I was worried that so few ingredients would equal minimal flavor, but I was wrong. Tons of flavor, and I skipped the ancho chile. I used a pork loin roast because that's what I had. I should have used a shoulder or something fattier, because my meat was really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoDoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Have made this numerous times and follow the recipe to the letter, except I use 1 T of dried oregano. Make sure you blend in the blender, don't try to shortcut it as I have tried before. I shred this and use it to make carnitas and they are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariap430

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Absolutely fantastic! I couldn't believe how tender this was. I used 2 lb. boneless pork roast, cut off the butcher's netting and opened the roll a bit, spread some of the mixture in the openings then retied with string (also makes it easier to cut when finished). Marinated overnight, adding a packet of Sazon and a good sprinkle of Adobo as others recommended. Didn't have ancho chile pepper so used 1 tsp. of cayenne - should have used only 1/2 tsp. Since it was a little spicey, when meat was finished I took it out and added 2 packets of Sweet & Low to the juice, shredded the meat and returned to the crock pot for a little while. Served with Zataran's Caribbean Rice - will DEFINITELY make this again! Thanks Counntry Cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
We didn't care for this. It seemed bland. We thought it would be much more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I tried the recipe and it was good and OK - just not my favorite. I couldn't find the Ancho Chile spice and used 1 can of chipotle' adobo sauce with 2 chopped jalapeños. It was very hot and spicy. I added vegetable broth just to add more moisture to pour over the pork and rice I shredded the left over pork and spread it over nachos. I liked the pork better over nachos instead of rice. That was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This got 5-Stars from my toughest food critic...no, not my hubby or small children - my mother! I added a little extra garlic and saffron, as suggested from another Review, and1/2 the chili powder (it's not my favorite flavor) and it was really excellent, easy, & versatile! My entire family devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eshortSTL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Good as fajita meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States