Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by hertzen
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This is a great dish, I remember from childhood. I would skip the soy sauce and salt though. The bouillon was plenty salty tasting. Used fresh minced garlic in place of garlic powder. Used red and yellow peppers, cause that's what I had. I added brown mushrooms. I subbed red wine for the 1/4 cup of water. The mushrooms and the wine added a real rich flavor. The meat was so tender. I cooked it for 8 hours on low, but 7 hours on low would have been plenty fine. Served over a garlic linguine pasta with a side of steamed asparagus. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Very good! The only thing I didn't like was the sauce was really watery but that was my fault because I didn't have corn starch to thicken it other than that it was yummy! I made it with rice and poured it over the rice. I added some Worcestershire sauce about a tbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Easy, delicious, and satisfying, with big flavor. I did all of the chopping the night before to cut down on the AM prep work, so when I got up, I had everything in the slow cooker in maybe 10 minutes. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
The meat was delicious and literally fell apart. The picture showed red bell peppers so I used one red and one green. The tomatoes seemed a little out of place. I'd make it again but use more peppers and skip the tomatoes. As other reviewers mentioned, I might add the peppers later. I like soft peppers but not quite that soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
We made it without the cornstarch, but it was very dry. We used good meat so not sure what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This type of beef does not to be cook for hours it just take few minutes I followed the instruction and it turnout beef shrunk and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
It was just ok with me. The peppers were strong and there was a lot of extra broth. I'd rather make a steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Excellent. Used a can of Beef Consomme instead of boullion with 1/4 cup water. Used red and green peppers. Good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Excellent! I topped a baked potato with the sauce. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This is a very good recipe and freezes nicely as well. Here is how I do it. Its very important to get good meat for this. I usually get a high quality chuck roast. I trim and slice it into 1.5 in chucks. I sear the beef with olive oil, fresh garlic, red wine, salt and pepper. Transfer to crock pot then add stewed tomatoes, bouillon/cornstarch mixture, soy sauce, dash of Worcestershire, sugar, half a bag of chopped frozen onions, and more spices (garlic powder, oregano, dried parsley, black pepper). Let this cook on low for 5/6 hours. THEN I add a bag of frozen mixed pepper strips and sometimes I need a little more cornstarch depending on how thick it is. Turn up to high for 1 hr. Done! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,937) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States