Slow Cooker Party Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I thought it needed more flavor... added onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I think one of the large oval slow cookers works best for this recipe. There's plenty of room to stir and the items don't get crushed. At least that's the way it worked for me. I like making the mix in the slow cooker and will do it again. Next time I think I will double the topping because it isn't real strong. I left the top on but askew so the moisture could escape. A few pieces did get a little more done than others but not burned. Oh and I did add Worcestershire sauce to the butter and used garlic salt instead of seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was done sooner than three hours, only because my crockpot is a newer model and a serious powerhouse. It took mine just under two hours. I used vegetable oil instead of butter (I'm low on butter and saving it for cooking) and I used Beau Monde seasoning instead of celery salt only because that was what I had and it's almost the same thing, only with onion flavoring. This was okay--the flavor was primarily salt and celery. I like the idea of this instead of using the microwave or oven which totally saves on my electric bill. I just didn't care for the spices. I might use this cooking method from now on only using my own spice mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was okay, but needed something. I did add worcestershire sauce as others suggested, but it still didn't do it for me. I also had a problem of some of the pieces burning even though I set my timer to stir once every 30 minutes as instructed. I think I will stick to the oven (or maybe even microwave) for my Chex Mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was excellent, not too salty and once you started tasting it, you couldn't quit! We also added worcheshire sauce and used Honey Nut Cheerios which added just a little bit of sweetness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I was very disappointed with this recipe. The mixture came out very bland tasting. I would suggest doubling (or maybe tripling) the amount of butter, parmesan cheese, and salts. I had my mixture in the slow cooker for 2 hours and several of the peanuts, pretzels and cereals came out stale or burnt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I can see this would be a really yummy tasting mix, however I followed the instructions to a "t" except for a shorter "cooking" time and I had a lot of burnt pieces. The other tricky part in the crock pot is every time you want to stir it up, you break the pieces of mix and make crumbs :(. Next time I think I'll stick to the oven...much easier to move around with a spatula and monitor for the potential burnt pieces. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I followed the recipe other than, I used the butter-flavored popcorn oil in place of butter. No melting the butter:) We love it. What a snap to make this way! I am planning to use this Slow Cooker method for all of my Chex@ Party Mixes. Thank you so much for posting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
It makes alot of Party mix. I doubled everything and it was prefect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was a breeze to make, I also cut back on the celery salt and increased the Parmesan just a little. This went fast! Next time I'm going to add some puffed cheetos for a diferent texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States