Slow Cooker Parsley Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Best ever slow cooker chicken. It's moist and super flavorful. Variation I made: did not add the vegetables. I slid the butter under the skin per recipe, laid it in the bottom of a big oblong slow cooker. Whisked the soy sauce, 2 T Real lemon (didn't have a fresh lemon), 1 T. dried minced onion (prefer the less intense onion flavor), salt & pepper and poured it over the chicken. Then laid slin slices of the cream cheese over the chicken, sprinkled with 1 T. dried parsley (didn't have fresh), 1/2 t. dried chives, 1/4. t. dried basil. Cooked on high for 5-6 hours. Removed chicken (with cheese on top) & kept warm in oven. Skimmed fat off sauce & thickened with a little corn starch & served on the side. Absolutely to die for! When then cream cheese ran out, you could dip in the sauce...moist without either...but the flavor! It's so tender, all the meat falls off so watch the small bones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was soooo good, and EASY. I did add a little cream of chicken soup and a cup or so of water to have more "gravy". It was FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Wow, excellent recipe! I used boneless/skinless chicken breasts and omitted the buter. Sauce was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaina Brant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Living In: Hoboken, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Love this recipe!! My husband says its his favorite chicken recipe. The first time I made it, I used the chicken breasts and I didn't have potatoes, so I left them out and we had it with rice and we thought it was outstanding!! I made it again yesterday and used chicken thighs with small baby potatoes and I added a couple of carrots chopped up. I used the zest and juice from the lemon and omitted the salt because of the lemon juice and soy sauce. A complete meal in one pot!! Very rich, but very, very good!! Will make this again and again. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I pretty much like it, but it needs some tweaking, imo. I use only 1/4 c butter and remove the skin from the chicken. It tends to be greasy if you don't. I cut the potatoes bit-sized, just cus that's how I like them. I add 3 cloves of garlic. I also use a whole 8oz box of sliced mushrooms. I like extra gravy too, so I add a cup of homemade chicken broth. I also zest the lemon before I juice it. If using soy sauce, omit salt. I have used liquid aminos as a healthier alternative to soy sauce, but if I do I use the salt the recipe calls for. Adding cream soup is not necessary and adds much extra sodium; not a healthful idea with the sodium content in the soy sauce. I have made this recipe a few times and with these changes it is a family favorite. With these changes, I would give the recipe FIVE stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeperathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
The chicken just falls off the bone and melts in your mouth. This savory dish may be a little too salty so reduce the soy sauce and the salt. Also keep about a fourth of the parsley and add it in the last 10 minutes to truly enhance the flavors. Truly a wonderful mixture. The sauce was creamy and delicious. My entire family loved it. Will keep playing with it and keep you all posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I thought this was a terrific chicken/crockpot recipe! I used boneless chicken breasts, so I left out the butter. I didn't have the small red potatoes, so I just quartered the baking potatoes that I already had. I used the 1/3 fat cream cheese and since I didn't have an actual lemon, I added about a Tbsp of lemon juice instead. I took the advice of other reviewers and used half the soy sauce. I had to leave out the onion as my kids won't touch them, but I used some onion powder instead. Also, since I didn't have fresh mushrooms, I used a can of drained mushrooms. I was a little concerned at first because the cheese mix was thick. I dolluped (sp?) the cheese over the top and smeared it as best as I could. Then, about halfway through, I stirred it all together and it looked much more sauce-like. I cooked it on high for about 4 hrs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLKATSARAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Algona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
My family and I also think (as you said) this easy chicken meal is scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I followed directions exactly- SO SO GOOD!! This will be a great addition to our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
My husband loved this. The kids and I hated it. I did choke it down so that the kids would try it. Since the rule is you have to try it before you can say you don't like it... well I didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States