Slow Cooker Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I was looking for a slow cooker orange chicken so decided to give this one a try inspite of the bad reviews. I made quite a few changes and it turned out wonderful (which is why the 4 stars). this is what I did: 1st, I seasoned the chicken with s&p, garlic powder and dusted in flour then deep fried till golden brown. Then I put drained chicken in crockpot with other ingred + 2 heaping Tablespoons of orangejuice concentrate and 1/2 cup of honey. When the meal was finished I placed the chicken under the broiler until a bit crispy then dusted in toasted sesame seeds. It turned out delish this way!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
This was really good. I added a bag of frozen stir-fry peppers and onion (I microwaved them for a couple of minutes first) and a teaspoon of ground ginger. After five hours on low I turned it up to high, stirred in about 2 Tbsp dissolved corn starch (I like thick sauce) and a tin of mandarine orange segments. By the time the rice was done, the sauce was nicely thickened. It tasted very soy-saucy to me, but was still very good and my husband really liked it, which is a big plus (he's picky). Super easy, I'll be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MCPARKER
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This was great, my family loved this chicken! The only change that I made was that I cooked it on high for 3 to 4 hours. I will make this agian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Love the taste! I used diet orange soda for a healthier version. I also sprinkled a bit of ginger on the chicken. Hubby and I both enjoyed this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I love this made it a few times I shred the chicken into a bowl then add the rice then pour some of the juice into it my family loves it so does a friends of mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was so simple! Our chicken was frozen when we put it in the slow cooker and it came out so tender and juicy. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrupe75

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was the best chicken I've had in a while. It was so tender and juicy! My husband and I had it over rice like it is in the picture, along with fresh steamed green beans. The sauce was watery but it was great because we used the left-overs with some flour to make a chicken orange gravy. So simple, quick and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I made this and added a few touches, a tbs of ginger, and a tbs of pepper and a tbs of garlic. 2 fresh chopped small onions and some green onions as well. It was good and I will make it again. I'm going to try using OJ next time instead of the orange soda. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
very easy and quite flavorful. will make it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
It didn't seem to make sense that just soda and soy sauce could make it taste good. I added 1/2 cup of Italian dressing, 1tsp of red pepper flakes and ginger, garlic salt to taste, 1/3 cup of packed brown sugar, and drizzled honey over he mixture. It turned out okay, just the chicken was a little dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States