Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
How funny! I found a recipe almost exactly like this last night, and threw it in the crockpot before bed. I'm eating it right now. The one I used is part apple juice and part water, and no raisins. Everything else is exactly the same. Its really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redamber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenmare, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This is a great breakfast. We love hot oats and this really takes all the work out of it. Put it on at night and in the AM yumm. This is great to lower the bad cholesterol also. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I made these to take to work. Everyone loved them! I filled my crock pot, turned it on and went to bed. It was great to wake to a house smelling like apple pie. These had good flavor. I'm going to make these again next week for our breakfast at work. We're thinking we might try them with blueberries or maybe strawberries instead of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
For the reviewer wondering...Steel-cut oats are whole grain groats (the inner portion of the oat kernel) which have been cut into only two or three pieces by steel rather than being rolled. They are golden in color and resemble small rice pieces. Steel-cut oats are also known as coarse-cut oats, pinhead oats, or Irish oats. I usually buy them in bulk at my local farmer's market co-op store. This recipe is delish. I love the addition of the apple and the use of the crock pot. It makes the whole house smell wonderful, and there is very little effort or time required from me. My two year old would eat this for every meal of the day if I gave him the option (which is tempting on some days).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I get home from work at around 2 in the morning and always check AR for the newest reviews. I saw this recipe and thought it would be great to wake up at 10:30 and have breakfast made. I had all the ingredients, so I tossed this together in the crockpot. When I got up, this was cooked perfectly. It did need some salt; since the recipe didn't call for it, I didn't put any in at the beginning. My husband added more brown sugar and raisins to his, but I ate mine just the way it came out (except for adding salt). Very good recipe. Perfect for work nights. Thanks, brandysue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I was really excited about trying this recipe but it didn't turn out too well for me... The flavors didn't combine well and the oatmeal around the edge of the pot burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I love steel cut oats but don't usually have time in the morning to make a batch. This was quick and easy to prepare. I did have to turn my crock pot down to the warm setting for the last couple of hours, but that's the fault of my equipment, not the recipe. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Very easy and Very good breakfast! I didn't have raisins so I used dried cranberries, may stick w/them because they were plump and juicy. I did add a touch of sugar when I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I've made oats in the crock pot for years. Instead of water I use milk or soy milk. The water alone is too bland. This is a great starter and lends itself to additions like adding a tablespoon of peanut butter or toast some walnuts or almonds and add to the pot and let cook with the oats. Try maple with the vanilla extract. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I really did not care for this at all. The only change I made was using about 1/4 cup of raisins instead of a 1/2 cup. I thought 3 1/2 cups of water to 1 cup of oatmeal seemed like a really wrong ratio. I normally cook oatmeal on the stove top in about 5 minutes. The oats have a nice bite to them still. I decided to try this method after seeing many recipes. I thought the oatmeal was mushy and it was surrounded with a thick gummy liquid. I also didn't care for the darker brown color. I am one to normally cut sugar in a recipe, but this one needed at least twice the brown sugar listed to give it some flavor. The crock pot was also a pain to clean. No one would eat it and it ended up getting tossed. It was so thick, brown, and mushy, I didn't know how to salvage it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States