Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Oh my goodness, so good! Used apple pie spice instead of just cinnamon, and added a pinch of salt. You can prevent sticking by using the butter to grease the crockpot. Doubled the recipe as another reviewer suggested...husb and I work nightshifts and its nice to set aside some individual portions to freeze and take to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Fantastic! We really enjoyed this. I used 10oz of apple juice in place of the water & chopped, dried cherries because I didn't have raisins. I used 2 tsp cinnamon & 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice instead of a full tbsp of cinnamon. Glad I did it that way because I think it old have been too much for my taste. Due to time constraints, I started it on high for an hour then turned to low for three hours. It wasn't quite redy then, but after sitting in the fridge overnight, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleburg Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I also put this in the crock pot before we went to bed and woke to great smells and a ready breakfast. I feel this recipe barely serves 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made this with steel cut oats and even though I lightly coated the crock pot with oil, it really stuck and was a pain to clean. The stuck parts burned a little and gave a bitter taste to the whole dish. Some other reviewers mentioned trying the bowl inside the crock pot - I'll try this next time. I really like the idea of it and it made the house smell really good in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Too thin. Too much cinnamon! Recipe idea is good, but proportions need altered badly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This is a good "starter" recipe, but after making it once, I changed a few things...I wouldn't add the fruit until its done cooking because the starches make the oatmeal a think , sticky mess, I also didnt add any sugar. I only added the oats, water, 1tbs vanilla, and 1tbs cinnamon. I set out all of the other toppings like an "oatmeal bar" that way ppl can dress their bowl any way they'd like! I also cooked it on the "warm" setting for 8 hours, making sure to spray the crockpot with Pam....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I don't like making breakfast and this was so nice to wake up to! I cut down the amount of cinnamon to about a teaspoon or so (i just eyeballed it) and I omitted the raisins and added walnuts. My crockpot is a no bells and whistles thing, so I cooked it on warm for about 8 hour!s. It needed a little more sugar, but that can always be added later. I prefer oatmeal to be mushy, so this was perfect for me. This receipe's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is an easy way to go and customizes easily with what fruits/flavors you like and have on hand. I was surprised to see some of the neg. reviews didn't appear to have actually read the directions. Steel-cut oats are NOT rolled, quick, or instant. They really do take about 3 1/2 to 4 cups of water per cup of oats (and if you cook them on the stovetop, they take about 30 minutes!). I tried this the first time during the day on a weekend so that I could keep an eye on it. Every crock pot is not created equal. I have one crock pot that likes to burn this. I have to use the 'warm' setting or cook a double batch. It freezes fine. Will defrost for me (in MY microwave) on 5 min defrost cycle--no hot/cold spots. (Flattened food thaws more quickly) TY very much BrandySue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keydancer
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Taste okay, but texture was mushy which I suspect was from too much water at the beginning. I've made other slow cooker oatmeal, with the same oats, with much better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Great recipe - please make sure you use steel cut oats though. Those reviewers who complain about the texture probably used regular oats (steel cut oats do NOT cook in five minutes). Thanks brandysue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States