Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I also followed this recipe to the letter and found it disgusting. It had WAY too much cinnamon, it was bitter. If you are going to try it cut the cinnamon back to 1 tsp. After spending 4.00 for steel cut oats I am going to try cooking them on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is a delicious recipe, BUT . . . I don't understand why you would put this in your crockpot for six to eight hours when you can make this exact recipe in your microwave in a few short minutes. I have oatmeal almost every day of the week. I make it using steel cut oats and unsweetened Almond milk and most of the other ingredients mentioned in this recipe. I'm enjoying my breakfast in minutes. So while yes, this is a delicious recipe as written, just know that you can make it quicker and easier in your microwave if you choose. And go ahead and tweak those ingredients to suit your own taste. Don't like raisins? Try dried cranberries, apricots or even blueberries. Or leave the fruit out all together. Just go with what you enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
No way you could cook this overnight! Mine was done in an hour and a half at the most (on low)! I just did steel cut oats and water so my kids could add what they like. Turned out ok just mine cooked way faster than stated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I cooked it overnight and tried it this morning. It was ok, but I won't repeat it. If you are short on time and don't like to make breakfast, try baked oatmeal instead. It's flavor is excellent, and imagine you could re-heat it, plus added fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvquilter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
MY kids ate this! my KIDS ate this! my kids ATE this! MY kids ate THIS!!! I WILL MAKE THIS ALL OF THE TIME!!! i also added a wee bit of salt (just a pinch) and put some maple syrup on it before serving. thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Offering a suggestion - cut back on the water by about 1/2 - 1 cup and instead of a slow cooker use a rice cooker with a delay to be ready when you wake up. The bonus is that you will not have a wonderful aroma from that recipe waking you up in the middle of the night when the slow cooker is on - you will just get the aroma close to when wake up time is anyway. THEN for the 1/2 - 1 cup liquid that is missing, you can add milk - stir and leave warming through for 5 - 10 min. This is a wonderful recipe otherwise, and as some mentioned can be customized easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I cook steel cut oats using the above recipe in a rice cooker, takes 20 - 22 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Delicious! I did half water half almond milk. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Steel cut oats. I put this together Christmas Eve and cooked overnight for Christmas morning to keep us fed until the mid day brunch. This was just excellent!! I used dried cranberries instead of raisins and would suggest not cooking them but putting them on top. Also served with coconut, cranberries, brown sugar and milk on top. Yum, Yum. Ate the left overs for next couple of days. Easy to re-heat in microwave. thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
great recipe! Not only was it delicious, it made my whole home smell great. So easy and great to prepare night before if you have guests spending the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States