Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I am an oatmeal LOVER, but woke up to a gross mushy mess (I used steel-cut oats) - did not care for the consistency of this recipe. Sorry /:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I make this for my husband because I don't always have time to make breakfast. He gets five or six mornings out out it because it is so filling! Bonus! I've made it once as it was written, except I didn't use raisins because my husband is allergic to grape products. I'm making it a second time with dates instead of apples because I haven't got any apples. It is so easy and tasty! Thanks, brandysue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I am not a fan of this recipe. The slow cooker took all of the "chew" out of the steel cut oats. With the raisins and the apples, this was mush. I didn't want to throw it out so I added brown sugar, old fashioned oats, and chopped pecans for texture. I think maybe 4-6 hours on low would have been long enough cooking time. Also, I would add cinnamon to the final product; this looked burnt when i added the cinnamon at the beginning of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IUMGRAD2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I thought it was good, but should've read the reviews before I made it for the fam. I LOVE SCOs, so this was perfect for us. Consistency is so much better than the rolled oats. But the changes I would make (same as other readers) is to double the recipe to avoid the blackening (didn't do much for the presentation or the taste!), put the raisins in AFTER it's done, may try it on "warm" setting for a little longer instead of "low" to see if that helps the burning. And lastly, will try to make it with half of a kind of milk and water... almond, coconut or cow's milk for a creamier texture. But other than that, I loved it. Perfect for our Sunday mornings when we have to get out the door and get to church on time with 4 little ones!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe to a T and I used steel cut oats, so that definitely wasn't where I went wrong. I cooked on low for 6 hours and the result was NOT an oatmeal concoction ANYONE ought to greet a loving spouse with in the morning! Either my taste buds vary vastly from the majority here, or something went horribly wrong because this was absolutely disgusting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I won't be making this again. The consistency turned out fine but I wish I would've added alot more apples for taste. Yes, it was bland but then again it's oatmeal. If you don't have a programmable crockpot that will automatically turn off after 6 or 8 hours I would hesitate on trying it overnight for fear it will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Very good. Made recipe plus half (for 9 servings). Cooked on low for 8 hours. It was a bit crusty around the edges but delicious. Made as is. Used milk, mixed dried berries, apples. Kids loved it. Nice to wake up too on a cold Saturday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I will make this again! I made it exactly as the recipe called for. ~~ Everyone's tastes are different, for me I wanted it just a bit sweeter, so I added some brown sugar at the end. ~~ Here's my only issue with a lot of overnight crock pot recipes, not just this one ... I go to bed (am at least settled) by 9 pm each evening, and am up around 6am .. that is 9 hours. My crock pot has a timer, and after the time is up it switches to "warm". Last night, I put it in at 9am for 5.5 hours (figuring the warm setting would be fine) and happened to wake up at 3am for cold medicine - I could smell the wonderful oatmeal, so I went to check on it, and it was done, so I turned the crock off. Never the less - by 7am (breakfast time) it was still a bit too "overdone" -- I do not fault the recipe for that, because if I could have served it right when it was done at 3am it would have been perfect! It's just a byproduct of "overnight" slow cooking I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori DeLude

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Apple in it really good. Use stevia and cit down on sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This is simply delicious! in my version, I cut out the sugar because it just doesnt need it with all the other goodies in there. The apple is just a genius idea! I also used coconut oil instead of butter. Oh and last but not least, I made this in my RICE COOKER!!!! My slow cooker is much too large to put a single or double serving of oatmeal, so my husband suggested the rice cooker. I threw everything in when I woke up and it was ready to eat after my shower. Ive made it the last 2 days, always making enough for my mid morning snack as well. I am just so incredibly happy to have found a way to make steelcut oatmeal so easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States