Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I made this a couple of weeks ago and we thought it was very good. I just finished putting it in the crockpot tonight. This time I put in more apple (2 small galas), more raisens (1/2 cup) and another tablespoon of sugar. We will see how this turns out. It was delicious the first time, but we customized it to our own taste this time. I can't wait to experiment with different fruits and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Arnoldsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This recipe is awesome. Even my teenagers love it and normally they only like oatmeal in cookies. The only change that I made is that I don't put the raisins in until after it's done. I don't like raisins cooked so much. So when my husband gets up, he turns it off and then when I go to reheat a bit in microwave, I toss in a few raisins. This is just my preference. Kids liked the raisins cooked. I make a huge pot and it provides breakfast for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This was pretty easy, healthy, and it was nice to wake up to a nice warm breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made this recipe this afternoon so I could see how it behaves. It took exactly 6 hours for a nice, creamy consistency. It's 8 pm and I can't stop 'tasting' it. I used half water and half unsweetened apple juice, and one large apple coarsely chopped. It tastes great and I'm looking forward to breakfast being ready for the week. I might use a bit less cinnamon next time. Thanks for the yummy, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
My husband and I loved having this ready in the morning when we woke up! I had read about putting the ingredients in a heat safe bowl and then surround the bowl (about 1/2 way to the top of the bowl) with water in the crockpot. Cooked perfectly! I only put the apples and cinnamon in at the beginning and then I added raisins, a dab of maple syrup, a little bit of milk when I was ready to eat and it was perfect to me. Of course this can be adjusted in so many ways to suit individual tastes. Thanks for the original recipe and thanks for all the helpful suggestions that have been posted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Thank you, brandysue, for this recipe. Oatmeal is so good for you and the steel cut oats are even better, but I don't usually make them because they take way too long to cook on the stove and I don't have time for that when I have to get off to work in the morning. But, this is a great alternative because I can make a batch that lasts throughout the week where the last serving tastes as good as the first. This recipe is like having dessert for breakfast, but there's no guilt involved. Cooking the steel-cut oats in the slow cooker overnight is a wonderful idea. I think the recipe works well just as it is, but I did tweak it because I didn't have raisins and I've always preferred milk over water in my oatmeal. I added dried cranberries, flax seed and an additional 2T brown sugar. I don't think the tablespoon of cinnamon is overpowering at all. Cinnamon is so very good for you (lowers LDL and stabilizes blood sugar) that the more the better, IMHO. The only issue I had was that it stuck big time to my crock pot. I think the pot runs hot, so I will adjust the setting from 'low' to 'warm' next time and spray some Pam on the sides to see if that eliminates the problem. I had also put just a tad of honey in the mix which probably contributed to the sticking, as well. I love a recipe that not only tastes good, but is easy to make AND has the benefit of actually being good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
We didn't care for this one much. The first time it adhered to our crockpot. We doubled it the next time and cooked it on warm, but it was soup in the morning. So we set it to high and ate it a bit later. The raisins had reconstituted to grapes, there was way too much cinnamon and not enough sugar. I still really like the idea of oatmeal ready in the morning so I'll keep trying. But I'll definitely cut the cinnamon and omit the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA
Living In: Chimacum, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
After reading all of the reviews for this recipe I decided to make it during the day the first time so that I could monitor its progress. I cooked the oatmeal on low for 4 hours, stirred it and gave it another half hour and then served it. Pretty good at that point, maybe a bit heavy on the cinnamon, but I really like cinnamon. My Crock Pot brand slow cooker is very low tech so if I want to make this an overnight project I'll cook it on the warm setting instead of low. I think 8 hours on low would have been a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I didn't care for this at all, but my son loved it. It needed more sugar and there was too much cinnamon. I will stick with my usual quick oat with brown sugar and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time last night. I wqs concerned about the overnight time because my crock pot tends toward the hot side even on low and doesn't have a timer or warm setting. The other concern that I had was the amount of cinnamon and that one turned out to be the biggest one. The cinnamon just overwhelms eveythng else. Even though I had read a few reviews I neglected to put any salt in and I think that would help a lot. What I will change for next time - reduce cinnamon by half, substitute some milk for some of the water, add maybe a tsp of salt and increase the brown sugar by 1 or 2 TBSP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States