Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This came out great, although each serving needed a pinch of salt. I wonder if some people are using QUICK COOKING steel cut oats, and that's why it was mushy for them. It took less time than the recipe. It got thicker as it sat in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
My kids and I love this oatmeal. Using steel cut oats instead of rolled oats is vital, as is greasing the crock pot vessel. We like ours with a teaspoon of nutmeg and a dash of salt added, but the original recipe is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This recipe was tasty, but the "cook on warm if your crockpot cooks too high" advice didn't work so well for my crock pot. After 7 hours on warm, they weren't really done, so I put them on low for two more hours. I think in the future I might try low on a few hours before bed, and then switch to warm overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
My husband doesn't like homemade oatmeal, and he really liked this! I made a few adjustments as follows: 2 cups almond milk and 1 cup water, 1 cup steel oats, 1 chopped up gala apple (all I had), only 1 TBSP of cinnamon (PLENTY), doubled the brown sugar to 4 TBSP, 1 tsp vanilla, and the 2 TBSP of butter. I set it to warm before I went to bed around midnight, and it was creamy and delicious around 8:00 this morning. I added a few pecans, dried cranberries, and a packet of Sugar in the Raw to my bowl. The Sugar in the Raw is a coarser, natural sugar that is light golden brown in color, but I think is not brown sugar. It really makes a difference in a good way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I think people don't understand that this is a recipe that depends on YOUR crockpot being just like hers. That is, doesn't overcook or undercook! And you can ADD more sugar after it's cooked, it's meant for more than one meal or more than one person so microwaving one bowl isn't the same!! I also like butter & a sprinkle of sugar on the top of HOT cereal so to each his or her own, wouldn't you say? No, I don't put butter on Cheerios but it's like comparing apples to oranges. The recipe is great as is but go ahead & make changes to suit yourself!! Don't accuse her of a "faulty" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This rocked! Took it to work and fed several friends. All loved it. I did cut the cinnamon in half. Milk added before serving along with some sweetener. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
my favorite way to make breakfast! i use Almond Breeze instead of milk..works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I make this for my morning crew at work and it doesn't last 5 minutes! I add an extra apple and cut 1/3 cup water with 1/3 cup milk. I also add an extra tablespoon of brown suger. Mmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
After reading all the other reviews, I decided to be very cautious. I have a manual dial Rival brand 3 1/2 quart crock pot. I was sure to use steel cut oats. I sprayed my crock pot with Pam beforehand and cooked it only on the Warm setting, not Low. It was perfectly done after 4 1/2 hours on the Warm setting. Delicious! I love steel cut oats, but rarely eat them because they take forever on the stove top. This is great! Very easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
not bad, kids ate it but needs some more brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States