Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
So so so GOOD! I doubled the recipe so I would have some to freeze in individual baggies. What I did different was instead of raisins I used dried cranberries and added a bit of nutmeg and an extra tbs of brown sugar. I tried it on te warm setting and when we got up it was soupy-- but soft-- so I turned it to low for about an hour and it thickened up beautifully. Next time I'll start it earlier on low and when I go to bed turn it to warm. Very good! Smelled like apple pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
How funny! I found a recipe almost exactly like this last night, and threw it in the crockpot before bed. I'm eating it right now. The one I used is part apple juice and part water, and no raisins. Everything else is exactly the same. Its really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redamber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenmare, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Marshall
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I did slight variation of this ... added 4 cups water to my 1 c steel cut oats. 3 TBS of ground flaxseed. 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon. 2 chopped organic gala apples. Added raisins after cooking. sprayed the crockpot with pam spray just in case to prevent sticking. after 8 hrs, oatmeal was perfect. we added some sweetener, me: Truvia; hubs: agave nectar. It was so filling and yummy! had leftovers for tomorrow morning's bfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I love steel cut oats but don't usually have time in the morning to make a batch. This was quick and easy to prepare. I did have to turn my crock pot down to the warm setting for the last couple of hours, but that's the fault of my equipment, not the recipe. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is really good, I have made steel cut oats on the stove and I like this method much better. My slow cooker must run on a higher temperature though because it is burning around the sides after 4 hours on low. Really glad you took the time to share this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This is a great breakfast. We love hot oats and this really takes all the work out of it. Put it on at night and in the AM yumm. This is great to lower the bad cholesterol also. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I made these to take to work. Everyone loved them! I filled my crock pot, turned it on and went to bed. It was great to wake to a house smelling like apple pie. These had good flavor. I'm going to make these again next week for our breakfast at work. We're thinking we might try them with blueberries or maybe strawberries instead of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
For the reviewer wondering...Steel-cut oats are whole grain groats (the inner portion of the oat kernel) which have been cut into only two or three pieces by steel rather than being rolled. They are golden in color and resemble small rice pieces. Steel-cut oats are also known as coarse-cut oats, pinhead oats, or Irish oats. I usually buy them in bulk at my local farmer's market co-op store. This recipe is delish. I love the addition of the apple and the use of the crock pot. It makes the whole house smell wonderful, and there is very little effort or time required from me. My two year old would eat this for every meal of the day if I gave him the option (which is tempting on some days).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Very easy and Very good breakfast! I didn't have raisins so I used dried cranberries, may stick w/them because they were plump and juicy. I did add a touch of sugar when I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I've made oats in the crock pot for years. Instead of water I use milk or soy milk. The water alone is too bland. This is a great starter and lends itself to additions like adding a tablespoon of peanut butter or toast some walnuts or almonds and add to the pot and let cook with the oats. Try maple with the vanilla extract. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States