Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This is a good "starter" recipe, but after making it once, I changed a few things...I wouldn't add the fruit until its done cooking because the starches make the oatmeal a think , sticky mess, I also didnt add any sugar. I only added the oats, water, 1tbs vanilla, and 1tbs cinnamon. I set out all of the other toppings like an "oatmeal bar" that way ppl can dress their bowl any way they'd like! I also cooked it on the "warm" setting for 8 hours, making sure to spray the crockpot with Pam....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I don't like making breakfast and this was so nice to wake up to! I cut down the amount of cinnamon to about a teaspoon or so (i just eyeballed it) and I omitted the raisins and added walnuts. My crockpot is a no bells and whistles thing, so I cooked it on warm for about 8 hour!s. It needed a little more sugar, but that can always be added later. I prefer oatmeal to be mushy, so this was perfect for me. This receipe's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is an easy way to go and customizes easily with what fruits/flavors you like and have on hand. I was surprised to see some of the neg. reviews didn't appear to have actually read the directions. Steel-cut oats are NOT rolled, quick, or instant. They really do take about 3 1/2 to 4 cups of water per cup of oats (and if you cook them on the stovetop, they take about 30 minutes!). I tried this the first time during the day on a weekend so that I could keep an eye on it. Every crock pot is not created equal. I have one crock pot that likes to burn this. I have to use the 'warm' setting or cook a double batch. It freezes fine. Will defrost for me (in MY microwave) on 5 min defrost cycle--no hot/cold spots. (Flattened food thaws more quickly) TY very much BrandySue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keydancer
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Taste okay, but texture was mushy which I suspect was from too much water at the beginning. I've made other slow cooker oatmeal, with the same oats, with much better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Great recipe - please make sure you use steel cut oats though. Those reviewers who complain about the texture probably used regular oats (steel cut oats do NOT cook in five minutes). Thanks brandysue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I am surprised at how many good reviews this got. I found it to be a mushy mess. Definitely not enough brown sugar, I added 4T instead of 2. I would also recommend adding a little more water if you like your oats a bit more runny and not in one big clump. The cinnamon could be reduced a bit too. Would not make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabird3
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I thought this had WAY too much cinnamon in it. It was so awful I ended up throwing the entire batch away. I'll try it again with half the cinnamon and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
So easy to make the night before and a great way to have a heart healthy breakfast ready for you in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I tried this last night, and like some other reviewers mine burnt on the outside of the crockpot. I used 1.5c water and 2c 1% milk (this may be the reason it burnt so bad) and I ommited the butter. Instead of raisins I chopped up some dried mango. I cooked mine for 8 hours on low. The salvageable oatmeal was ok and the texture was good but it had the burnt taste. The crockpot is now soaking in hot water for the second time to remove the charcoal. I will definitly try this recipe again but will be putting everything in a pyrex bowl inside the crockpot with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
We love oatmeal so I really liked the idea of it being ready the next day when I woke up. Definitely needs more sugar but other than that it is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States