Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe! I make as is or add milk or juice instead of some of the water. I add dried cherries, or cranberries, pecans. I use brown sugar, white sugar, or maple syrup. I usually add 1 cup of pumpkin puree with pumpkin spices. But however I make it, it is always yummy! If you double it, you reduce the chances of it burning on the sides and you can freeze individual portions in the small 1 cup Ziplock containers. Then microwave frozen for 3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
405 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
For the reviewer wondering...Steel-cut oats are whole grain groats (the inner portion of the oat kernel) which have been cut into only two or three pieces by steel rather than being rolled. They are golden in color and resemble small rice pieces. Steel-cut oats are also known as coarse-cut oats, pinhead oats, or Irish oats. I usually buy them in bulk at my local farmer's market co-op store. This recipe is delish. I love the addition of the apple and the use of the crock pot. It makes the whole house smell wonderful, and there is very little effort or time required from me. My two year old would eat this for every meal of the day if I gave him the option (which is tempting on some days).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I've made oats in the crock pot for years. Instead of water I use milk or soy milk. The water alone is too bland. This is a great starter and lends itself to additions like adding a tablespoon of peanut butter or toast some walnuts or almonds and add to the pot and let cook with the oats. Try maple with the vanilla extract. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Marshall
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I did slight variation of this ... added 4 cups water to my 1 c steel cut oats. 3 TBS of ground flaxseed. 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon. 2 chopped organic gala apples. Added raisins after cooking. sprayed the crockpot with pam spray just in case to prevent sticking. after 8 hrs, oatmeal was perfect. we added some sweetener, me: Truvia; hubs: agave nectar. It was so filling and yummy! had leftovers for tomorrow morning's bfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Using steel cut oats (like the recipe calls for) NOT rolled oats is super important in this recipe. Those who complain about it being complete mush are likely using the quaker oaks, or rolled oats. Steel cut oats look like tiny pieces of uncooked rice, not the flat round oats. This is a great recipe for early mornings for the whole family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I get home from work at around 2 in the morning and always check AR for the newest reviews. I saw this recipe and thought it would be great to wake up at 10:30 and have breakfast made. I had all the ingredients, so I tossed this together in the crockpot. When I got up, this was cooked perfectly. It did need some salt; since the recipe didn't call for it, I didn't put any in at the beginning. My husband added more brown sugar and raisins to his, but I ate mine just the way it came out (except for adding salt). Very good recipe. Perfect for work nights. Thanks, brandysue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I really did not care for this at all. The only change I made was using about 1/4 cup of raisins instead of a 1/2 cup. I thought 3 1/2 cups of water to 1 cup of oatmeal seemed like a really wrong ratio. I normally cook oatmeal on the stove top in about 5 minutes. The oats have a nice bite to them still. I decided to try this method after seeing many recipes. I thought the oatmeal was mushy and it was surrounded with a thick gummy liquid. I also didn't care for the darker brown color. I am one to normally cut sugar in a recipe, but this one needed at least twice the brown sugar listed to give it some flavor. The crock pot was also a pain to clean. No one would eat it and it ended up getting tossed. It was so thick, brown, and mushy, I didn't know how to salvage it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Very easy and Very good breakfast! I didn't have raisins so I used dried cranberries, may stick w/them because they were plump and juicy. I did add a touch of sugar when I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
MY kids ate this! my KIDS ate this! my kids ATE this! MY kids ate THIS!!! I WILL MAKE THIS ALL OF THE TIME!!! i also added a wee bit of salt (just a pinch) and put some maple syrup on it before serving. thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is an easy way to go and customizes easily with what fruits/flavors you like and have on hand. I was surprised to see some of the neg. reviews didn't appear to have actually read the directions. Steel-cut oats are NOT rolled, quick, or instant. They really do take about 3 1/2 to 4 cups of water per cup of oats (and if you cook them on the stovetop, they take about 30 minutes!). I tried this the first time during the day on a weekend so that I could keep an eye on it. Every crock pot is not created equal. I have one crock pot that likes to burn this. I have to use the 'warm' setting or cook a double batch. It freezes fine. Will defrost for me (in MY microwave) on 5 min defrost cycle--no hot/cold spots. (Flattened food thaws more quickly) TY very much BrandySue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keydancer
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States