Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I won't be making this again. The consistency turned out fine but I wish I would've added alot more apples for taste. Yes, it was bland but then again it's oatmeal. If you don't have a programmable crockpot that will automatically turn off after 6 or 8 hours I would hesitate on trying it overnight for fear it will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Very good. Made recipe plus half (for 9 servings). Cooked on low for 8 hours. It was a bit crusty around the edges but delicious. Made as is. Used milk, mixed dried berries, apples. Kids loved it. Nice to wake up too on a cold Saturday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I will make this again! I made it exactly as the recipe called for. ~~ Everyone's tastes are different, for me I wanted it just a bit sweeter, so I added some brown sugar at the end. ~~ Here's my only issue with a lot of overnight crock pot recipes, not just this one ... I go to bed (am at least settled) by 9 pm each evening, and am up around 6am .. that is 9 hours. My crock pot has a timer, and after the time is up it switches to "warm". Last night, I put it in at 9am for 5.5 hours (figuring the warm setting would be fine) and happened to wake up at 3am for cold medicine - I could smell the wonderful oatmeal, so I went to check on it, and it was done, so I turned the crock off. Never the less - by 7am (breakfast time) it was still a bit too "overdone" -- I do not fault the recipe for that, because if I could have served it right when it was done at 3am it would have been perfect! It's just a byproduct of "overnight" slow cooking I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori DeLude

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Apple in it really good. Use stevia and cit down on sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This is simply delicious! in my version, I cut out the sugar because it just doesnt need it with all the other goodies in there. The apple is just a genius idea! I also used coconut oil instead of butter. Oh and last but not least, I made this in my RICE COOKER!!!! My slow cooker is much too large to put a single or double serving of oatmeal, so my husband suggested the rice cooker. I threw everything in when I woke up and it was ready to eat after my shower. Ive made it the last 2 days, always making enough for my mid morning snack as well. I am just so incredibly happy to have found a way to make steelcut oatmeal so easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Flavor was find, but didn't care for the texture of how it turned out. I think I will look to some of the tweaking in other reviews and try this again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is a great recipe! Followed the directions to the letter, but added dried cherries instead of raisins - turned out great. One tip I got from my boss - soak the steel cut oats overnight in a bowl of water, then dump in a strainer and rinse. It takes out alot of the starch and you end up with a lighter fluffy oatmeal thats not so heavy. Use 3 cups liquid because the oats have already absorbed moisture from the leaching process. Next time I'll try soy milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
First time I made this recipe I found it had just a little too much of a cinnamon taste for my liking. Next batch I reduced the cinnamon by half and it turned out perfect for my taste. I highly recommend this recipe especially on those cold mornings. As an added twist slice up and add a banana just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Made this as the recipe indicated. Significant sticking so don't cook this longer than indicated. Once I stirred it up and added artificial sweetener, it was amazing. I used golden raisins and one cut up crisp pink apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJ Mom of 3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
My family loved this recipe, and I loved coming down at 6 a.m. to find breakfast ready, especially on a school morning! I would cut the amount of cinnamon to 1-1/2 or 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States