Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
The consistency of this is odd and it always seems to burn along the edge of the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Love it. I used 2 1/2 cups skim milk, 1 cup apple juice and added a dash of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I made these last night. My kitchen smelled amazing when I got up this morning. Fantastic flavor and healthy too. I froze in individual bowls so I can pop them in the microwave at work during the week. Easy and great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
OMG, what a mess I woke up to this morning. I followed the directions exactly, using steel cut oats and subbing craisins. Started it before bed, and woke up to a dark brown, soupy, mushy mess. The craisins had all burnt. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Holy buckets!! If I could give this recipe more stars, I would!! Just bought a 1.5 quart crock pot for our camper and saw this recipe and gave it a try. I was a little worried as crock pots vary from brand to brand, size to size and this came out PERFECT!! Followed the recipe almost to a "t", adding a little bit more brown sugar, dried cranberries instead of raisins and added some chopped pecans for crunch. Woke up the next morning to a bubbling crock of deliciousness!! WAY better than any instant/stove top/microwave I have ever tried. I'm already thinking about new combinations of dried fruits and nuts! WELL worth getting the bag of steel cut oats for. Heck, get the new little crock pot for this one!! SO glad I did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Oh my goodness, so good! Used apple pie spice instead of just cinnamon, and added a pinch of salt. You can prevent sticking by using the butter to grease the crockpot. Doubled the recipe as another reviewer suggested...husb and I work nightshifts and its nice to set aside some individual portions to freeze and take to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Fantastic! We really enjoyed this. I used 10oz of apple juice in place of the water & chopped, dried cherries because I didn't have raisins. I used 2 tsp cinnamon & 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice instead of a full tbsp of cinnamon. Glad I did it that way because I think it old have been too much for my taste. Due to time constraints, I started it on high for an hour then turned to low for three hours. It wasn't quite redy then, but after sitting in the fridge overnight, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleburg Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I also put this in the crock pot before we went to bed and woke to great smells and a ready breakfast. I feel this recipe barely serves 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made this with steel cut oats and even though I lightly coated the crock pot with oil, it really stuck and was a pain to clean. The stuck parts burned a little and gave a bitter taste to the whole dish. Some other reviewers mentioned trying the bowl inside the crock pot - I'll try this next time. I really like the idea of it and it made the house smell really good in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Too thin. Too much cinnamon! Recipe idea is good, but proportions need altered badly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States