Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
First time I made this recipe I found it had just a little too much of a cinnamon taste for my liking. Next batch I reduced the cinnamon by half and it turned out perfect for my taste. I highly recommend this recipe especially on those cold mornings. As an added twist slice up and add a banana just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Made this as the recipe indicated. Significant sticking so don't cook this longer than indicated. Once I stirred it up and added artificial sweetener, it was amazing. I used golden raisins and one cut up crisp pink apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
My family loved this recipe, and I loved coming down at 6 a.m. to find breakfast ready, especially on a school morning! I would cut the amount of cinnamon to 1-1/2 or 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made a double batch in my crock pot last night. Didn't smell it this morning and was worried, but it was done and delicious. Even my husband who usually has "junk" for breakfast took a container to work. I have been eating roled outs, done in the microwave, but this is my new breakfast fave. Only change I will make is it add a tsp salt and maybe 1 more tbsp brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Loved this recipe WITH THESE CHANGES: Add 3/4 t salt and cut cinnamon to 1 t instead of 1 T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
A simple solution to it sticking and burning on the sides of the crockpot is to cook it in a water bath in the crock. Just spray a 1 1/2- 2 qt casserole (whatever you can fit in your crockpot-i've even used a 2 cup Pyrex bowl covered with foil inside a mini crockot). Put your ingredients inside the casserole ,cover it ,and put inside the crock Fill with water about 3/4 of the way up the sides of the casserole and cook on low. No crockpot cleanup, no burnt oats, and leftovers just get covered and put in frig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I also followed this recipe to the letter and found it disgusting. It had WAY too much cinnamon, it was bitter. If you are going to try it cut the cinnamon back to 1 tsp. After spending 4.00 for steel cut oats I am going to try cooking them on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is a delicious recipe, BUT . . . I don't understand why you would put this in your crockpot for six to eight hours when you can make this exact recipe in your microwave in a few short minutes. I have oatmeal almost every day of the week. I make it using steel cut oats and unsweetened Almond milk and most of the other ingredients mentioned in this recipe. I'm enjoying my breakfast in minutes. So while yes, this is a delicious recipe as written, just know that you can make it quicker and easier in your microwave if you choose. And go ahead and tweak those ingredients to suit your own taste. Don't like raisins? Try dried cranberries, apricots or even blueberries. Or leave the fruit out all together. Just go with what you enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
No way you could cook this overnight! Mine was done in an hour and a half at the most (on low)! I just did steel cut oats and water so my kids could add what they like. Turned out ok just mine cooked way faster than stated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I cooked it overnight and tried it this morning. It was ok, but I won't repeat it. If you are short on time and don't like to make breakfast, try baked oatmeal instead. It's flavor is excellent, and imagine you could re-heat it, plus added fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvquilter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States