Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
We didn't care for this one much. The first time it adhered to our crockpot. We doubled it the next time and cooked it on warm, but it was soup in the morning. So we set it to high and ate it a bit later. The raisins had reconstituted to grapes, there was way too much cinnamon and not enough sugar. I still really like the idea of oatmeal ready in the morning so I'll keep trying. But I'll definitely cut the cinnamon and omit the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA
Living In: Chimacum, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
After reading all of the reviews for this recipe I decided to make it during the day the first time so that I could monitor its progress. I cooked the oatmeal on low for 4 hours, stirred it and gave it another half hour and then served it. Pretty good at that point, maybe a bit heavy on the cinnamon, but I really like cinnamon. My Crock Pot brand slow cooker is very low tech so if I want to make this an overnight project I'll cook it on the warm setting instead of low. I think 8 hours on low would have been a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I didn't care for this at all, but my son loved it. It needed more sugar and there was too much cinnamon. I will stick with my usual quick oat with brown sugar and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time last night. I wqs concerned about the overnight time because my crock pot tends toward the hot side even on low and doesn't have a timer or warm setting. The other concern that I had was the amount of cinnamon and that one turned out to be the biggest one. The cinnamon just overwhelms eveythng else. Even though I had read a few reviews I neglected to put any salt in and I think that would help a lot. What I will change for next time - reduce cinnamon by half, substitute some milk for some of the water, add maybe a tsp of salt and increase the brown sugar by 1 or 2 TBSP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I expected this to be more tasty than it turned out to be. The combination of apples and cinnamon and raisins had me eagerly anticipating this dish when I made it last week. Maybe my disappointment was due to the fact that this was my first time using steel cut oats and it wasn't what I expected. I just know I prefer my Quaker Quick-Cooking Oats with some Splenda mixed in to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I'm glad I found this! It's a hearty, warm, and EASY breakfast during cold winter months. I love that I can start it the night before and wake up to the delicious smell of cinnamon and apples cooking! I've made it twice so far...the first time exactly by the recipe and it was delicious! The second time I omitted raisins (per request of my 3 year old) and brown sugar, just b/c I dislike adding sugar to anything for breakfast. I think it really needs both of those ingredients though. We ended up adding a lil sugar to our bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Needs less cinnamon and more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Osceola, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I am an oatmeal LOVER, but woke up to a gross mushy mess (I used steel-cut oats) - did not care for the consistency of this recipe. Sorry /:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I make this for my husband because I don't always have time to make breakfast. He gets five or six mornings out out it because it is so filling! Bonus! I've made it once as it was written, except I didn't use raisins because my husband is allergic to grape products. I'm making it a second time with dates instead of apples because I haven't got any apples. It is so easy and tasty! Thanks, brandysue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I am not a fan of this recipe. The slow cooker took all of the "chew" out of the steel cut oats. With the raisins and the apples, this was mush. I didn't want to throw it out so I added brown sugar, old fashioned oats, and chopped pecans for texture. I think maybe 4-6 hours on low would have been long enough cooking time. Also, I would add cinnamon to the final product; this looked burnt when i added the cinnamon at the beginning of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IUMGRAD2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States