Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
So good and easy! Might spray my slow cooker first next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gboulka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Warning!: ORIGINAL RECIPE IS SUPER BLAND. Nowhere near enough brown sugar. Think more like 1/3 cup for this much oatmeal. While you're at it, go ahead and reduce the cinnamon to maybe 1.5 tsp. and use a 50/50 mix of water and milk to cook, or use all apple juice (it gives great flavor, especially when making apple pie oatmeal). If you wake up to a too hot, too mushy and stiff oatmeal, just add in some cold milk and it will break up the texture while, at the same time, cooling it down. One last nugget of slow cooker oatmeal truth: It may just be my slow cooker, but I feel like the apples in this were overcooked and the sides of my oatmeal were a tad burnt when I left it in at 5.5 hours. If you have this issue, I'd suggest cooking on low for 3 hours and leaving on warm all night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I decreased the Cinnamon to 1 tsp instead of 1 tbsp. I cook it 3 hours on low in my crockpot and then turn it off and let it cool in the pot, that way it does not stick to the sides. I love this recipe and now keep a batch in my fridge ready to warm up for B-fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This came out great, although each serving needed a pinch of salt. I wonder if some people are using QUICK COOKING steel cut oats, and that's why it was mushy for them. It took less time than the recipe. It got thicker as it sat in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
My kids and I love this oatmeal. Using steel cut oats instead of rolled oats is vital, as is greasing the crock pot vessel. We like ours with a teaspoon of nutmeg and a dash of salt added, but the original recipe is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This recipe was tasty, but the "cook on warm if your crockpot cooks too high" advice didn't work so well for my crock pot. After 7 hours on warm, they weren't really done, so I put them on low for two more hours. I think in the future I might try low on a few hours before bed, and then switch to warm overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
My husband doesn't like homemade oatmeal, and he really liked this! I made a few adjustments as follows: 2 cups almond milk and 1 cup water, 1 cup steel oats, 1 chopped up gala apple (all I had), only 1 TBSP of cinnamon (PLENTY), doubled the brown sugar to 4 TBSP, 1 tsp vanilla, and the 2 TBSP of butter. I set it to warm before I went to bed around midnight, and it was creamy and delicious around 8:00 this morning. I added a few pecans, dried cranberries, and a packet of Sugar in the Raw to my bowl. The Sugar in the Raw is a coarser, natural sugar that is light golden brown in color, but I think is not brown sugar. It really makes a difference in a good way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I think people don't understand that this is a recipe that depends on YOUR crockpot being just like hers. That is, doesn't overcook or undercook! And you can ADD more sugar after it's cooked, it's meant for more than one meal or more than one person so microwaving one bowl isn't the same!! I also like butter & a sprinkle of sugar on the top of HOT cereal so to each his or her own, wouldn't you say? No, I don't put butter on Cheerios but it's like comparing apples to oranges. The recipe is great as is but go ahead & make changes to suit yourself!! Don't accuse her of a "faulty" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This rocked! Took it to work and fed several friends. All loved it. I did cut the cinnamon in half. Milk added before serving along with some sweetener. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
my favorite way to make breakfast! i use Almond Breeze instead of milk..works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States