Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Using steel cut oats (like the recipe calls for) NOT rolled oats is super important in this recipe. Those who complain about it being complete mush are likely using the quaker oaks, or rolled oats. Steel cut oats look like tiny pieces of uncooked rice, not the flat round oats. This is a great recipe for early mornings for the whole family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Easy and delish. I cooked for 7 hours but had it on warm for 1 hour - it was burnt around the edges, but the middle was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
So so so GOOD! I doubled the recipe so I would have some to freeze in individual baggies. What I did different was instead of raisins I used dried cranberries and added a bit of nutmeg and an extra tbs of brown sugar. I tried it on te warm setting and when we got up it was soupy-- but soft-- so I turned it to low for about an hour and it thickened up beautifully. Next time I'll start it earlier on low and when I go to bed turn it to warm. Very good! Smelled like apple pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I really did not care for this at all. The only change I made was using about 1/4 cup of raisins instead of a 1/2 cup. I thought 3 1/2 cups of water to 1 cup of oatmeal seemed like a really wrong ratio. I normally cook oatmeal on the stove top in about 5 minutes. The oats have a nice bite to them still. I decided to try this method after seeing many recipes. I thought the oatmeal was mushy and it was surrounded with a thick gummy liquid. I also didn't care for the darker brown color. I am one to normally cut sugar in a recipe, but this one needed at least twice the brown sugar listed to give it some flavor. The crock pot was also a pain to clean. No one would eat it and it ended up getting tossed. It was so thick, brown, and mushy, I didn't know how to salvage it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I've made oats in the crock pot for years. Instead of water I use milk or soy milk. The water alone is too bland. This is a great starter and lends itself to additions like adding a tablespoon of peanut butter or toast some walnuts or almonds and add to the pot and let cook with the oats. Try maple with the vanilla extract. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Very easy and Very good breakfast! I didn't have raisins so I used dried cranberries, may stick w/them because they were plump and juicy. I did add a touch of sugar when I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I love steel cut oats but don't usually have time in the morning to make a batch. This was quick and easy to prepare. I did have to turn my crock pot down to the warm setting for the last couple of hours, but that's the fault of my equipment, not the recipe. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I was really excited about trying this recipe but it didn't turn out too well for me... The flavors didn't combine well and the oatmeal around the edge of the pot burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I get home from work at around 2 in the morning and always check AR for the newest reviews. I saw this recipe and thought it would be great to wake up at 10:30 and have breakfast made. I had all the ingredients, so I tossed this together in the crockpot. When I got up, this was cooked perfectly. It did need some salt; since the recipe didn't call for it, I didn't put any in at the beginning. My husband added more brown sugar and raisins to his, but I ate mine just the way it came out (except for adding salt). Very good recipe. Perfect for work nights. Thanks, brandysue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
For the reviewer wondering...Steel-cut oats are whole grain groats (the inner portion of the oat kernel) which have been cut into only two or three pieces by steel rather than being rolled. They are golden in color and resemble small rice pieces. Steel-cut oats are also known as coarse-cut oats, pinhead oats, or Irish oats. I usually buy them in bulk at my local farmer's market co-op store. This recipe is delish. I love the addition of the apple and the use of the crock pot. It makes the whole house smell wonderful, and there is very little effort or time required from me. My two year old would eat this for every meal of the day if I gave him the option (which is tempting on some days).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States