Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
YUM! These are delicious!! I followed the recipe exact for the ingredients but I cooked this on the stove top instead of slow cooking it, according to the directions on the steel cut oats package. It was great, will make this regularly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe! I make as is or add milk or juice instead of some of the water. I add dried cherries, or cranberries, pecans. I use brown sugar, white sugar, or maple syrup. I usually add 1 cup of pumpkin puree with pumpkin spices. But however I make it, it is always yummy! If you double it, you reduce the chances of it burning on the sides and you can freeze individual portions in the small 1 cup Ziplock containers. Then microwave frozen for 3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
381 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I doubled the recipe and followed as is except substituing dried cranberries for raisins. Give it a good stir, serve it warm w/ a little milk on top and you've got an easy and yummy hot breakfast. My 3 teenage boys devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
fine. Make sure to try it on low. Warm was too watery. Good, though, later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Marshall
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I did slight variation of this ... added 4 cups water to my 1 c steel cut oats. 3 TBS of ground flaxseed. 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon. 2 chopped organic gala apples. Added raisins after cooking. sprayed the crockpot with pam spray just in case to prevent sticking. after 8 hrs, oatmeal was perfect. we added some sweetener, me: Truvia; hubs: agave nectar. It was so filling and yummy! had leftovers for tomorrow morning's bfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is really good, I have made steel cut oats on the stove and I like this method much better. My slow cooker must run on a higher temperature though because it is burning around the sides after 4 hours on low. Really glad you took the time to share this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Using steel cut oats (like the recipe calls for) NOT rolled oats is super important in this recipe. Those who complain about it being complete mush are likely using the quaker oaks, or rolled oats. Steel cut oats look like tiny pieces of uncooked rice, not the flat round oats. This is a great recipe for early mornings for the whole family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Easy and delish. I cooked for 7 hours but had it on warm for 1 hour - it was burnt around the edges, but the middle was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
So so so GOOD! I doubled the recipe so I would have some to freeze in individual baggies. What I did different was instead of raisins I used dried cranberries and added a bit of nutmeg and an extra tbs of brown sugar. I tried it on te warm setting and when we got up it was soupy-- but soft-- so I turned it to low for about an hour and it thickened up beautifully. Next time I'll start it earlier on low and when I go to bed turn it to warm. Very good! Smelled like apple pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I really did not care for this at all. The only change I made was using about 1/4 cup of raisins instead of a 1/2 cup. I thought 3 1/2 cups of water to 1 cup of oatmeal seemed like a really wrong ratio. I normally cook oatmeal on the stove top in about 5 minutes. The oats have a nice bite to them still. I decided to try this method after seeing many recipes. I thought the oatmeal was mushy and it was surrounded with a thick gummy liquid. I also didn't care for the darker brown color. I am one to normally cut sugar in a recipe, but this one needed at least twice the brown sugar listed to give it some flavor. The crock pot was also a pain to clean. No one would eat it and it ended up getting tossed. It was so thick, brown, and mushy, I didn't know how to salvage it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States