Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Taste okay, but texture was mushy which I suspect was from too much water at the beginning. I've made other slow cooker oatmeal, with the same oats, with much better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Great recipe - please make sure you use steel cut oats though. Those reviewers who complain about the texture probably used regular oats (steel cut oats do NOT cook in five minutes). Thanks brandysue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I am surprised at how many good reviews this got. I found it to be a mushy mess. Definitely not enough brown sugar, I added 4T instead of 2. I would also recommend adding a little more water if you like your oats a bit more runny and not in one big clump. The cinnamon could be reduced a bit too. Would not make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabird3
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I thought this had WAY too much cinnamon in it. It was so awful I ended up throwing the entire batch away. I'll try it again with half the cinnamon and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
So easy to make the night before and a great way to have a heart healthy breakfast ready for you in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I tried this last night, and like some other reviewers mine burnt on the outside of the crockpot. I used 1.5c water and 2c 1% milk (this may be the reason it burnt so bad) and I ommited the butter. Instead of raisins I chopped up some dried mango. I cooked mine for 8 hours on low. The salvageable oatmeal was ok and the texture was good but it had the burnt taste. The crockpot is now soaking in hot water for the second time to remove the charcoal. I will definitly try this recipe again but will be putting everything in a pyrex bowl inside the crockpot with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
We love oatmeal so I really liked the idea of it being ready the next day when I woke up. Definitely needs more sugar but other than that it is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
my family would not eat this as it was mushy and had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly (except I kept the apple peel on) and the results were bitter, grainy and inedible. I woke up to a big disappointment this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I LOVE THIS!! My husband and I are recent empty nesters and I can make this for Monday morning and eat it for 3-4 days each morning. It's delicious! I didn't have cinnamon the first time I made it, I only had pumpkin pie spice and that worked well too. Thank you for submitting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States