Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
this is fabulous! Mine was done after probably 4 hours. Didn't use the butter. Might increase the water a 1/4 cup next time. Loved this. Reheats just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I make this often for my 4 children. We use Irish oats and I add dried fruit instead of chopped apples, Even trail mix is delicious and it's easy and nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjccphillips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macdill Afb, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I found it to be a bit mushier than I like. Perhaps if I reduce the water? To prevent sticking and ease washing up, I sprayed the slow cooker bowl with pam. A tip that I found from another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I loved this recipe. I had dried apple slices so I used those instead and they come out fully hydrated like fresh apples and it was very tasty. Maybe next time I will only use half of the cinnamon as the cinnamon kind of overpowered the other flavours. Maybe I will experiment with other spices as well like pumpkin pie spices. There can be so many excellent variations to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonbug
Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great oats! I modified a bit - used my mini crock pot and an appliance timer to set it for 5 hours on low, programmed to finish when we wake up. I used 2 cups almond milk and 1 cup water, the oats, apples, and raisins. Subbed maple syrup for sugar and cut back on the cinnamon. Yum! My kids absolutely love this oatmeal, and I love that I don't have to think about it in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and unfortunately, the slow cooker I used is a manual one, and it didn't switch over to warm. There was some heavy sticking to the bottom of the crock (I wouldn't call it burned). additionally, there was way too much water for my taste (and I used McCann's steel cut oats), and the cinnamon was a little strong. The taste was good, however, once I got past the cinnamon. So, next time I make it, I'll use 3 cups of water, half the cinnamon, and I'll use my other crock pot, which switches to warm after the cook time has been reached. Thanks for the recipe brandysue, it smelled wonderful this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
LOVE this recipe! My kids can make it if I wanted them to and I put in disposable cups and send the kids to school with a hot breakfast. I don't add any sugar at all, one Splenda and some milk per serving and it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Too much cinnamon, Start with less as you can add more if needed after the fact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I think it would be a little tastier/sweeter if apple juice was used instead of water, but otherwise its good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Love this recipe- Easy, healthy, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States