Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly (except I kept the apple peel on) and the results were bitter, grainy and inedible. I woke up to a big disappointment this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I LOVE THIS!! My husband and I are recent empty nesters and I can make this for Monday morning and eat it for 3-4 days each morning. It's delicious! I didn't have cinnamon the first time I made it, I only had pumpkin pie spice and that worked well too. Thank you for submitting this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This was great! I substituted milk, as some others had suggested. I also added 1/2 c. of dried mixed berries rather than just the raisins. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I made this yesterday and it was so easy and turned out delicious. It smells like Christmas when you wake up. We enjoyed a 2nd bowl today. Easy to toss left overs in tupperware to freeze, 2-3 minutes to microwave and you can enjoy again. I added some chopped pecans and a little milk to it after I dish it into a bowl just because thats how my husband and I like it. You could easily add or subtract ingrediants to your liking. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hb*brat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is a super healthy breakfast! I added a small peeled and chopped sugar pumpkin (can freeze for the winter) instead of the apple and some nutmeg too. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I omitted the sugar, raisins and butter. I increased the apple to 2 medium gala apples and cooked on low overnight. Luckily I used some non-stick spray, otherwise it would have been awful to get out of the crockpot! Next time I will cook everything on 'keep warm'. it was awful trying to scrape everything out while it was hot. Great for weekday breakfasts--thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I love steel cut oats and was looking forward to having breakfast ready when I woke up. I didn't add the butter since I never add butter when making oats on the stove top. I also only used 1/2 T of cinnamon which ended up being the perfect amount. I also subbed brown sugar for stevia and used craisins for the raisins. I used my 5 qt. Hamilton Beech slow cooker (doesn't cook as hot as others) and cooked for 7 hours. It was mush - didn't have the firm bite I like in steel cut oats. If I make this again I would consider a shorter cooking time. The craisins would have been much better sprinkled on the cooked oats as opposed to adding to the crock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This is a great way to make oatmeal, but it isn't very healthy if you follow the recipe as it is. I made these changes to mine; Omit the butter and brown sugar. Replace it with an additional Tbsp of cinnamon and 2 Tbsp of Splenda. Oatmeal is cereal. You wouldn't put butter on your Cheerios would you?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was very easy to throw together. I followed the recipe exactly cooking for 8 hrs. I did not like the raisins in this. They may have been good if they were added at the end. I was a little concerned at the amount of cinnamon but surprisingly it was not overpowering. It did come out very thick but I always add a touch of milk to my oatmeal anyways. I did not think it was very sweet so I did add a little sugar to it. Very good overall recipe. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Taste good but a lot is wasted due to sticking and I sprayed w/coconut oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States