Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
OMG, what a mess I woke up to this morning. I followed the directions exactly, using steel cut oats and subbing craisins. Started it before bed, and woke up to a dark brown, soupy, mushy mess. The craisins had all burnt. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Holy buckets!! If I could give this recipe more stars, I would!! Just bought a 1.5 quart crock pot for our camper and saw this recipe and gave it a try. I was a little worried as crock pots vary from brand to brand, size to size and this came out PERFECT!! Followed the recipe almost to a "t", adding a little bit more brown sugar, dried cranberries instead of raisins and added some chopped pecans for crunch. Woke up the next morning to a bubbling crock of deliciousness!! WAY better than any instant/stove top/microwave I have ever tried. I'm already thinking about new combinations of dried fruits and nuts! WELL worth getting the bag of steel cut oats for. Heck, get the new little crock pot for this one!! SO glad I did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Oh my goodness, so good! Used apple pie spice instead of just cinnamon, and added a pinch of salt. You can prevent sticking by using the butter to grease the crockpot. Doubled the recipe as another reviewer suggested...husb and I work nightshifts and its nice to set aside some individual portions to freeze and take to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Fantastic! We really enjoyed this. I used 10oz of apple juice in place of the water & chopped, dried cherries because I didn't have raisins. I used 2 tsp cinnamon & 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice instead of a full tbsp of cinnamon. Glad I did it that way because I think it old have been too much for my taste. Due to time constraints, I started it on high for an hour then turned to low for three hours. It wasn't quite redy then, but after sitting in the fridge overnight, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleburg Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I also put this in the crock pot before we went to bed and woke to great smells and a ready breakfast. I feel this recipe barely serves 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made this with steel cut oats and even though I lightly coated the crock pot with oil, it really stuck and was a pain to clean. The stuck parts burned a little and gave a bitter taste to the whole dish. Some other reviewers mentioned trying the bowl inside the crock pot - I'll try this next time. I really like the idea of it and it made the house smell really good in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Too thin. Too much cinnamon! Recipe idea is good, but proportions need altered badly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This is a good "starter" recipe, but after making it once, I changed a few things...I wouldn't add the fruit until its done cooking because the starches make the oatmeal a think , sticky mess, I also didnt add any sugar. I only added the oats, water, 1tbs vanilla, and 1tbs cinnamon. I set out all of the other toppings like an "oatmeal bar" that way ppl can dress their bowl any way they'd like! I also cooked it on the "warm" setting for 8 hours, making sure to spray the crockpot with Pam....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I don't like making breakfast and this was so nice to wake up to! I cut down the amount of cinnamon to about a teaspoon or so (i just eyeballed it) and I omitted the raisins and added walnuts. My crockpot is a no bells and whistles thing, so I cooked it on warm for about 8 hour!s. It needed a little more sugar, but that can always be added later. I prefer oatmeal to be mushy, so this was perfect for me. This receipe's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is an easy way to go and customizes easily with what fruits/flavors you like and have on hand. I was surprised to see some of the neg. reviews didn't appear to have actually read the directions. Steel-cut oats are NOT rolled, quick, or instant. They really do take about 3 1/2 to 4 cups of water per cup of oats (and if you cook them on the stovetop, they take about 30 minutes!). I tried this the first time during the day on a weekend so that I could keep an eye on it. Every crock pot is not created equal. I have one crock pot that likes to burn this. I have to use the 'warm' setting or cook a double batch. It freezes fine. Will defrost for me (in MY microwave) on 5 min defrost cycle--no hot/cold spots. (Flattened food thaws more quickly) TY very much BrandySue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keydancer
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Mac and Cheese

Great taste and classic goodness prepared in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States