Slow Cooker Oats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This is fantastic! Add more liquid though, I use the same amount as I would if I made it stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gravenhurst, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Arnprior, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I really wanted to love this oatmeal. Unfortunately, I felt like I was eating a bowl of cinnamon sugar. It was much too sweet and the cinnamon killed any and all other flavors. I haven't given up on steel cut oats, though. I'll definitively try them again but with MUCH less sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I didn't care for this. It was too soupy and lacked any texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I have made this repeatedly after buying steel cut oats, then finding out how long you have to cook and stir, lol! These cook in about 3 hours on low in my crockpot which tends to cook everything too quickly. So I make a batch during the day, then store it in the fridge. Single servings can be reheated in the microwave in about a minute. Great for breakfast or an evening treat. My husband and I both love it, especially when you leave the apples a little chunky. Delicious! Our little 2 year old grandson was here one day as the oats finished cooking and he gobbled a bowl down. A healthy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Ok, we didn't like this at all. Hubby couldn't eat it (he's never had steel cut oats before) he did not care for the gummy texture. I just personally like a more spiced apple taste and I didn't even think of that when making this. This was just very bland and the apple taste was a little weird. I might make this again but I'll add nutmeg or allspice and I'm curious to see if cooking for less then 7 hours will help with the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I made this last night for breakfast this morning. As I sit here eating this, I think it's a good recipe, but I made a change which I regret. I followed the recipe exactly as far as proportions, but instead of water I added half water, half almond milk. I dislike the taste of almond milk, and I hate wasting food, so I was trying to find a use for the almond milk. Another reviewer used almond milk, so I tried it. I can still taste the almond milk. I was hoping the apple, raisins, and cinnamon would mask it. They did, but not enough. I will make this again, but I will use only water. I still gave the recipe five stars because of the ease of the preparation, the texture when finished, and if I subtract the taste of the almond milk, I like it. Steel cut oats are a pain to make on the stove top, so slow cooking them with fresh ingredients is fantastic! The house smelled wonderful as the oats cooked, and like I said, I will make this again (and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
So good and easy! Might spray my slow cooker first next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gboulka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Warning!: ORIGINAL RECIPE IS SUPER BLAND. Nowhere near enough brown sugar. Think more like 1/3 cup for this much oatmeal. While you're at it, go ahead and reduce the cinnamon to maybe 1.5 tsp. and use a 50/50 mix of water and milk to cook, or use all apple juice (it gives great flavor, especially when making apple pie oatmeal). If you wake up to a too hot, too mushy and stiff oatmeal, just add in some cold milk and it will break up the texture while, at the same time, cooling it down. One last nugget of slow cooker oatmeal truth: It may just be my slow cooker, but I feel like the apples in this were overcooked and the sides of my oatmeal were a tad burnt when I left it in at 5.5 hours. If you have this issue, I'd suggest cooking on low for 3 hours and leaving on warm all night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I decreased the Cinnamon to 1 tsp instead of 1 tbsp. I cook it 3 hours on low in my crockpot and then turn it off and let it cool in the pot, that way it does not stick to the sides. I love this recipe and now keep a batch in my fridge ready to warm up for B-fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This came out great, although each serving needed a pinch of salt. I wonder if some people are using QUICK COOKING steel cut oats, and that's why it was mushy for them. It took less time than the recipe. It got thicker as it sat in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States