Slow Cooker Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
I'll never make oatmeal the "regular" way again! Don't worry about it sticking to the sides a little, just stir it well first thing in the morning, then add your mix-ins (raisins are excellent) and let it sit for a half hour or so, it's great. Wonderful left over. I don't use the cream, just add milk to taste (doesn't take much!) to individual bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I loved this recipe. With my crazy morning schedule, I was so glad to have breakfast finished & not have to worry about cooking. Soooo easy & can flavor it any way you would like. It was definately very creamy. I thought the leftovers were even better. Soo yummy with splenda, low cal maple syrup & bananas &/or cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Yummy and easy. What more can you ask for. I used the Splenda brand brown sugar with good results.Even had some left and took it to work to share for breakfast with the gang...they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MALLWAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
i read the reviews before i made this, and decided to add 2 tablespoons of butter to keep it from sticking to the crock. it either worked, or my slow cooker is not suceptible to sticking. i cooked it on low overnight, 9 hours, and it was fantastic. i made it again the next night with chopped apple added before cooking. if you do this, make sure to reduce the water by about 3/4 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This was fantastic! I threw the oats and water into the slow cooker when I got up on Christmas morning, and cooked them on high for 3 hours, until everyone arrived. Then I added the salt and cream, stirred, and served. I let everyone add the amount of brown sugar or fruit that they wanted. This was hearty and thick, and so creamy! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I boiled the water added the dry steel cut oats and covered with lid.Wait 4 minutes then I turned off the stove and went to bed. In the morning the oatmeal is ready to be quickly heated (add the cream and sugar at that time) this is easy for those who don't have a slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
463 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
you're right when you say this is the way oatmeal is suppose to be! I love it! I even love the sticky parts. My moms always used to stick to her pots when she made oatmeal and it was my favorite part! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I really liked this oatmeal although my children weren't too happy with it. I cooked it on warm all night and had no problems with it. I will make this again for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Family Loved the recipe! I made it a few survings more then stated and filled the slow cooker. Variation: (1)I added cinnamon and chopped apples (2) Didn't add the half and half, just milk to taste. My son (1.5 yrs) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeniece

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I like this recipe and it is the only way I will eat plain oatmeal. I think it works better if you double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States